Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Williamson picks up first-ever Mighty Taco Modified win

by jmaloni
Mon, Jul 18th 2011 02:35 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway Marketing & PR Director

It was a picture perfect night for racing last Friday, July 8, at Ransomville Speedway. A total of 85 cars filled the pit area set for competition on Destino's Pizza & Pasta, Niagara Frontier Publications, and A-Verdi Storage Container night. The evening also played tribute to the late Harold Rinehart with the annual Poster Contest and Kids Ride event. Another great fan base filled the grandstands enjoying plenty of side-by-side racing action.

Mat Williamson of St. Catharines, Ontario, picked up his first win at Ransomville Speedway. "Mighty Mouse" piloted his Mighty Taco Modified to the lead just prior to half way and quickly pulled away from the remainder of the field. Taking the lead away from Rich Vinson, Williamson went on to claim the victory aboard the 30-lap main event. Ricky Richner had a strong run, coming home in second aboard his Jetport Lounge/Lazy Lakes Camping Resort-sponsored No. 26. Chad Brachmann came from 12th to third ahead of Todd Burley and Pete Bicknell.

Dave Conant Jr. captured his first-ever win aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman ranks in just his second season aboard the open wheel class. Conant took the lead in the early going and built up a sizeable lead over best friend James Henry.

Greg Panunte made a return visit to the Big R after his big win a few weeks back in the Investor's Services 50-lap event. Unfortunately for Panunte, he became involved in an incident of no fault of his own and was sidelined early.

Billy Coleman of Ransomville captured the win aboard the 20-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Coleman took the lead away from Webb Nashwinter just before half way and held it the remaining distance. Mike Short, Derrick Borkenhagen, Gerald Poole and Mike Greenawalt rounded out the top five.

Yellow fever plagued this event in the early going, resulting in four cautions prior to half way. Single file restarts were the result of the many melees that haunted the main event. They went on to spell disaster for the points leader Jaren Israel and Jake Stefanski, who were both sidelined pitside.

The Streetstock race was a memorial event in honor of the late David Rinker II. Last December, the Rinker family and Ransomville Speedway suffered an enormous loss with the passing of 29-year-old David. The Rinker family has always been an intricate part of the weekly racing program, with David a huge fan of Ransomville Speedway, particularly the Streetstock class. In his honor, $400 was donated by various friends and family and randomly given away to the top 10 finishers. It was a heartfelt ceremony and a beautiful tribute to a life lost way too young.

Jamie Woods took top honors aboard the 12-lap Bobcat of Buffalo Fireball Series. Woods took the lead away from Jonathon Stoelting with just a couple of laps remaining and never looked back. Stoelting held on to second, followed by Jim Harbison, Gerry Gipp and Chris Leone.

Chris Lederhouse led the early stages of this one in dominating fashion and looked to be well on his way to a feature win. However mechanical woes went on to sideline him. Contact between Woods and Jim Stone left Stone with a flat tire.

Pit Notes

Upcoming at the Big R - the Alex Friesen Summer Nationals - Friday, Aug. 19, the $10,000 to win Modified 100.

Order of Finish

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Mat Williamson, Ricky Richner, Chad Brachmann, Todd Burley, Pete Bicknell, Rich Vinson, Randy Chrysler, Scott Kerwin, Robbie Krull, Tommy Flannagan, Ryan Susice, Chuck Hossfeld, Boyd MacTavish, Brian Sage, Dave Just, Pat Vigneri, Justin Sharp, John Smith, Steve Schumacher, Jon Miller, Bob Broomfield, Anthony Rizzardo, Scott Just and Jeff McGinnis. Heat winners - Anthony Rizzardo, Bob Broomfield and Jon Miller.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Dave Conant, James Henry, Mike Williams, Don Spatorico, Justin Wright, Greg Martin, Allan Wills, Mark Chiddy, Kevin Wills, Sandy Pembleton, Scott Krull, Brett Martin, Steve Miller, Gordon Hermanson, Chuck Kuhn, Jipp Ortiz, Jesse Cotriss and Greg Panunte. Heat winners - Allan Wills and Brett Martin

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Billy Coleman, Mike Short, Derrick Borkenhagen, Gerald Poole, Mike Greenawalt, Webb Nashwinter, Jennifer Greenawalt, Chris Burek, Randy Zimmerman, Chad Livermore, Donald Hermanson, Charles Harvey, Jesse Johnston, Roger Israel, Ken Camidge, Jake Stefanski, Brandon Sherwood, Timmy Kott, Andy Smith, Jaren Israel, Ken Washburn and Kyle Wendt. Heat winners - Tim Kott and Charles Harvey.

Bobcat Of Buffalo Fireball Feature Finish

Jamie Woods, Jonathon Stoelting, Jim Harbison, Gerry Gipp, Chris Leone, Ryan Stephenson, Patrick O'Keefe, Gary Watier, Ashley Harbison, Matt Mouldon, Trevor Goble, Rick Hess, David Dussault, Chad Lederhouse, Chris Lederhouse and Jim Stone. Heat winners - Ryan Stephenson and Chris Lederhouse.

Hometown News

View All News