Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Danny Johnson takes 'Battle at the Border'

by Marwa
Thu, Jul 7th 2011 12:45 pm

by Tana Robinson, Ransomville Speedway

The Ransomville Speedway management welcomed in the month of July in successful fashion, as a packed house enjoyed plenty of hot racing action with 90 entries in the pit area last Friday night. At stake? Five large Gs as the second annual "Battle at the Border" took center stage. The second highest car count of the season provided plenty of racing action throughout the four divisions of Modifieds, Sportsman, Streetstocks and 4 Bangers.

Danny Johnson of Rochester invaded the Big R and performed surgery on the Mighty Taco Modified field. Taking the lead away from Pete Bicknell on lap 49, "the doctor" went on to win his second "Battle at the Border 75." Johnson collected the very popular win piloting his Waste Management/Honeoye Auto Parts-sponsored No. 27j. Chad Brachmann came from the 12th starting position to second. Brachmann challenged Johnson on lap 60, giving cause for pause as the pair made contact on the front stretch. Johnson would maintain the top spot while Brachmann came home in second. Bicknell held on for third followed by Timmy McCreadie and Scott Kerwin. Kerwin had started on the pole and led the first five circuits.

Justin Wright visited victory lane for the first time in 2011 aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman division. Wright took the lead away from Mike Williams with just a few laps remaining in the 25-lap main event. Wright and Williams put on a show that just might go down as the best of the season as they battled side by side through the final seven circuits. In the end it was Wright in for the win followed by Williams, Don Spatorico, Mark Chiddy and James Henry. Jesse Cotriss had originally finished in third but was disqualified for not conforming to the rules as written.

Jaren Israel of Wilson captured the win aboard the 20-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Israel ran fourth with a few laps remaining and looked to be out of contention for the win. However, as lady luck would have it, contact between the front two of Kyle Wendt and Derrick Borkenhagen opened the door for Israel. Israel rocketed to the front and never looked back as he held Borkenhagen off for the win. Borkenhagen came home in second followed by Chris Burek, Billy Coleman and Ken Washburn.

Don Moulden of Burt took top honors aboard the Gippsters Collision 4 Bangers 12-lap main event. As the field came down for the checkered flag, current leader Mike Kramarz had a power plant let go, giving the lead to Moulden. Moulden was certainly in the right place at the right time as he cruised the final distance to collect his second win of the season. Kramarz drifted to the line for second followed by Marika Morris, Gordon Gau and Joey Zimmerman. Morris had led the early going prior to losing the top spot to Kramarz. The event was caution filled as the concrete wall acted like a magnet.

Pit Notes - Welcome Chuck Hossfeld, Danny Johnson, Tim McCreadie, Jerry Gradl, AJ Lewis and Martin Demming, who made their first starts of the 2011 season. Happy Birthday to Jose Torres and Dave Roberts.

•Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Danny Johnson, Chad Brachmann, Pete Bicknell, Timmy McCreadie, Scott Kerwin, Tommy Flannagan, Ricky Richner, Mat Williamson, Todd Burley, Robbie Krull, Ryan Susice, Travis Braun, Rich Vinson, Dave Just, Scott Just, Jeff McGinnis, Bob Broomfield, Boyd MacTavish, Chuck Hossfeld, Steve Schumacher, Randy Chrysler, Tim Jones, Anthony Rizzardo, John Smith, Jon Miller, Brian Sage and Justin Sharp. Heat Winners - Chad Brachmann, Tim Jones and Justin Sharp.

•Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Justin Wright, Mike Williams, Don Spatorico, Mark Chiddy, James Henry, Kevin Wills, AJ Lewis, Sandy Pembleton, Brett Martin, Allan Wills, Dave Conant, Scott Krull, Gordon Hermanson, Steve Miller, Jipp Ortiz, Mike Jeffery, Greg Martin and Jesse Cotriss. Heat Winners - Mark Chiddy and Greg Martin.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish - Jaren Israel, Derrick Borkenhagen, Chris Burek, Billy Coleman, Ken Washburn, Roger Israel, Webb Nashwinter, Jake Stefanski, Gary Camidge, Jerry Gradl Jr., Chad Livermore, Gerald Poole, Donald Hermanson, Jesse Johnston, Kyle Wendt, Jennifer Greenawalt, Pat Dell, Mike Short, Charles Harvey, Mike Greenawalt, Andy Smith and Ken Camidge. Heat Winners - Charles Harvey and Kyle Wendt.

•Gippsters Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish - Don Moulden, Mike Kramarz, Marika Morris, Gordon Gau, Joey Zimmerman, Ed Martin, Martin Demming, Eric Tupper, Camille Fuller, Brett Rowles, Mike Pahl, BobbiLynn Spillman, Lisa Marie Dussault, Ronel Laviz, Ryan Plante, Anthony Hermanson, Nickolas Smith, Dave Sheehan, Christina Swank and Richard Zellner. Heat Winners - Marika Morris and Michael Kramarz.

Hometown News

View All News