Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Stars of stage, film, TV and music celebrate Broadway's best as presenters on Tony Awards

by jmaloni
Tue, May 24th 2011 05:35 pm

Stars of stage, film, TV and music celebrate Broadway's best as presenters on The 65th Annual Tony Awards, live from the Beacon Theatre, Sunday, June 12 (8 p.m., live) on the CBS Television Network. Alec Baldwin, Christie Brinkley, Matthew Broderick, Harry Connick, Jr., Viola Davis, Joel Grey, Whoopi Goldberg, Kelsey Grammer, Marg Helgenberger, Samuel L. Jackson, James Earl Jones, Angela Lansbury, Robert Morse, Jim Parsons, David Hyde Pierce, Daniel Radcliffe, Vanessa Redgrave, Chris Rock, Patrick Wilson and Catherine Zeta-Jones are set to present. As previously announced, actor Neil Patrick Harris ("How I Met Your Mother") will host the awards show, which honors theater professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.

This year marks the 65th anniversary of the Tony Awards, which were first held on April 6, 1947, at the Waldorf Astoria's Grand Ballroom.  The ceremonies are presented by Tony Award Productions, which is a joint venture of The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, which founded the Tonys in 1947.

The Tonys were founded in memorial to Antoinette ("Tony") Perry, the American Theatre Wing's World War II chairperson.  The winners are selected by the governing board of Actors Equity, The Dramatists Guild, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, the United Scenic Artists, the Association of Theatrical Press Agents and Managers, the Casting Society of America, the American Theatre Wing and members of The Broadway League.

comments powered by Disqus