Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

CBS announces 16 of 18 castaways for 'Survivor: Redemption Island'

by jmaloni
Tue, Jan 11th 2011 03:00 pm

Two former castaways (to be announced later this week) will return to seek redemption

Hit television series, hosted by Emmy Award winner Jeff Probst, will feature a new format twist

CBS announced 16 of 18 castaways who will compete against each other on "Survivor: Redemption Island," when the Emmy Award-winning series returns for its 22nd season, Wednesday, Feb. 16 (8 p.m., ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Two of the 18 castaways, to be revealed later this week, are former castaways who will return to seek redemption.

This edition of "Survivor" will feature a new twist when, for the first time, castaways who have been eliminated from the game will have an opportunity to seek redemption and return for a chance to win the million dollar prize. Each week at "Tribal Council" when a castaway is voted off, they will be sent to an isolated island called "Redemption Island," where they will live alone in exile. To stay on "Redemption Island," they will need to compete in a duel against the next person eliminated at "Tribal Council" and sent to the Island. The winner of each duel earns the right to continue fighting for an opportunity to return to the game and the chance to compete for the title of "Sole Survivor"; the loser is sent home.

The battle unfolds in Nicaragua where the 18 castaways will be divided into two tribes of nine: the Ometepe Tribe and the Zapatera Tribe. The tribes are comprised of individuals from all different backgrounds with the same ultimate goal: to be the "Sole Survivor." While 16 of the contestants are new to the competition, two are former castaways who will be given another chance to compete for the million-dollar prize and one last shot at redemption. 

Click below to see the cast:


"Survivor: Redemption Island"is produced by SEG, Inc. Mark Burnett, Probst and David Burris are executive producers and Leisa Francis is co-executive producer.

Hometown News

View All News