Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Sears notches DIRTcar Sportsman Series win

by jmaloni

Ransomville Speedway

Thu, Sep 16th 2010 06:05 pm
There were 111 cars pitside for WGR 550 night at Ransomville Speedway last Friday. The DIRTcar Sportsman tour headlined a four division program, which also included a 358 Modified Open, the Streetstocks, and a 4 Cylinder Challenge.

Tim Sears Jr. of Clay, N.Y., invaded the Big R and showed the regulars the quick way around the half-mile dirt oval as he cruised to the win in the 50-lap DIRTcar Sportsman Series event. Sears took control on lap five and literally never looked back as he enjoyed a full straightaway lead at the finish. Nate Reynolds enjoyed a great night, coming home second, followed by Jipp Ortiz, Justin Wright and Greg Panunte.

Contact at the start between front row runners Chris Raabe and Cody McPherson resulted in Raabe making contact with the turn two guardrail. The pair went to the tail of the field for the restart, which found Reynolds leading the way. Reynolds led through lap five prior to giving up the point position to Sears. Once out front Sears led the field through the remaining distance, taking the win in the 50-lap special.

 Chad Brachmann of Sanborn became the eighth different winner of 2010 aboard the Mighty Taco Modifieds. Brachmann took control at the drop of the green and quickly established himself as the man to beat. By lap 10, Brachmann held a full straightaway advantage over invader Fred Carleton, who made his first start of the 2010 season. Brachmann piloted his Mighty Taco-sponsored machine to the win over Carleton, Robbie Krull, Bob Broomfield and Scott Kerwin.

Cory Sawyer of Niagara Falls captured his first win of the season aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division. Sawyer also became the 18th different winner in the class after taking the win aboard the first 15-lap main event. Sawyer took the lead away from Timmy Kott on lap 10 and held the youngster at bay the remaining distance. Kott came home in second, followed by Chris Burek, Pat Dell and Brandon Sherwood.

Roger Israel of Wilson captured the win aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Israel took the lead early on and never looked back aboard his No. 37 entry. Israel took the win over Andy Smith, Billy Coleman, Brian Lonneville and Gerald Poole.

Derek Wagner took top honors aboard the 4 Banger/Firehall 12-lap Challenge event. Wagner took the lead away from Jim Stone as the pair came off turn four for the checkered flag. Stone, Jamie Woods, Darren Bailey and Zack Sam rounded out the top five.

Ed Martin led the early going followed closely by Jim Harbinson and Stone. The three played bumper tag, with Martin getting the short end of the stick on lap three. Martin took a hard ride into the front stretch moat, coming to rest on his side. Harbinson was sent pit side for his part in the incident. Stone inherited the lead and held it through the final circuit prior to Wagner taking over the point position at the stripe.

Pit Notes

Coming up Saturday, Sept. 18 at the Big R, the King of the Hill Twin 100s, featuring a $2,000 to win Sportsman 100 and the $1,000 to win Streetstocks 100.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman DIRTcar Series Finish

Tim Sears Jr., Nate Reynolds, Jipp Ortiz, Justin Wright, Greg Panunte, Don Spatorico, Ryan Susice, B.J. Willard, James Henry, Jesse Cotriss, Cody McPherson, Chris Raabe, Steve Gray, Derek Smith, Mike Williams, Adam Hilton, Gary Lindberg, Mark Chiddy, Shane Pecore, Brett Martin, Mark Dixon, Ricky Newton, Dave Marcuccelli, Curt Friesen, Greg Martin, Kevin Wills, Steve Miller, Luke Carleton, Rob Bussie and Mark Potter. Heat winners -- Tim Sears, B.J. Willard, Gary Lindburgh and Jipp Ortiz. Consolation winners -- Mike Williams and Derek Smith.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Chad Brachmann, Fred Carleton, Robbie Krull, Bob Broomfield, Scott Kerwin, Jeff McGinnis, Joe Kubiniec, Rich Vinson, Boyd MacTavish, Steve Schumacher, John Smith, Jon Miller, Scott Just, Pete Cosco, Roger Chrysler, Dave Just, Rick Hoctor, Tony Purgarich and Justin Sharp. Heat winners -- Chad Brachmann and Fred Carleton.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1

Cory Sawyer, Timmy Kott, Chris Burek, Pat Dell, Brandon Sherwood, Donald Rappleyea, Webb Nashwinter, Scott Krull, Kenny Washburn, Joe Rickard, Mike Greenawalt, Jason Smith, Jennifer Greenawalt and Charles Harvey. Heat winners -- Cory Sawyer, Billy Coleman and Mike Greenawalt.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2

Roger Israel, Andy Smith, Billy Coleman, Brian Lonneville, Gerald Poole, Jaren Israel, Jacob Stefanski, Mike Short, Kirk Sherwood, Mark Loveland, Kyle Wendt, Jason Kuhn, Derrick Borkenhagen, Ken Camidge and Dave Burmaster.

Gippsters Collision 4 Banger/Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Challenge

Derek Wagner, Jim Stone, Jamie Woods, Darren Bailey, Zack Sam, Pat O'Keefe, Joey Zimmerman, Chris Leone, Matt Mouldon, Jose Torres, Anthony Hermanson, Chris Lederhouse, Mark Nicoletti, Nick Smith, Brett Rowles, Ronel Laviz, Robin Nashwinter, Marro Akers, Mike Pahl, Jim Harbinson and Ed Martin. Heat winners -- Pat O'Keefe and Ed Martin.

Hometown News

View All News