Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Burley and Susice named track champs

by jmaloni
Thu, Sep 9th 2010 04:00 pm

Despite Mother Nature's best efforts, the racing program was completed Sept. 3 at the Ransomville Speedway. A total of 90 cars signed in pit side for championship night, which featured a 50-lap Modified main, 30-lap Sportsman feature, 25-lap Streetstock event and the Firehall Enduro Series. The event was presented by Atwal Eye Care.

Todd Burley of Spencerport captured the 2010 Mighty Taco Modified championship after coming home in the 11th position. Burley simply needed to keep his nose clean and come home in 14th place at worst to clinch the win.

Just when it appeared as though it would not be a problem, the defending champion suffered a flat tire. After a quick duck pit side, Burley returned and started his trek back to the front. Playing it perhaps a little bit conservatively, Burley advanced to 11th at the finish. Pete Bicknell did all he could do, coming home in second aboard his No. 42.

Ricky Richner of Niagara Falls took top honors aboard the 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified main event. Richner inherited the lead just before half way and literally never looked back as he blistered the field aboard his Jetport Lounge/Lazy Lakes Resort-sponsored No. 26. It was Richner's second win of the 2010 season.

Bicknell, Todd Gordon, Rich Vinson and Scott Kerwin rounded out the top five. Erick Rudolph made a late appearance after Spencer Speedway rained out their ROC event. Coming from dead last, Rudolph advanced to fourth before contact with Rich Vinson put Rudolph in the moat just before the finish.

Justin Sharp led the early going aboard his Blue Moon Potatoes-sponsored No. 8S machine. Just when it appeared as though Sharp may have a possible feature win in his future, disaster struck as he slowed with a flat tire. Under this same caution Todd Burley and Chad Brachmann also came to rest with flat tires. Richner inherited the lead position and quickly put distance between himself and the field. Richner went on to take the win.

 Justin Wright of Piffard collected win number four on the season aboard the 30-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main event. Piloting his No. 19W machine, Wright came from the ninth place starting position to take over the lead on lap 11 and never looked back. Wright took the win over Mark Chiddy, Ryan Susice, Jesse Cotriss and Ed Cain.

The Sportsman main event had a race within a race as Don Spatorico and Susice came into the event just four markers apart for the 2010 track title. One would have thought the pair was chained together as they made their way to the front of the pack. On lap 18 Susice secured the 2010 Original Pizza Logs championship with a pass on Spatorico.

Jaren Israel of Wilson captured win number five for 2010 aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division. By virtue of some difficult finishes as of late, Israel found himself on the front row for the start of the 25-lap main event. Israel immediately took control followed closely by Charles Harvey. Harvey kept Israel in his sights but to no avail as Israel cruised home for the victory. Harvey came home in second followed by Brandon Sherwood, Brian Lonneville and Gerald Poole.

Erick Gunio took his cow car to the front of the field aboard the 12-lap Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduro feature. Gunio took the lead in the early going and held off persistent challenges from Todd Bruning for the win. Bruning held on for second followed by Jonathon Stoelting, James Stone, Lori Brown, Ashley Harbison, Jim Harbison, Marc Morse, Rick Hess, Ryan Stephenson, Mark Brown, Chad Ledershouse and Gordon Dietz.

Pit Notes

Coming up Saturday, Sept. 18 at the Big R, the King of the Hill Twin 100s, featuring a $2,000 to win Sportsman 100 and the $1,000 to win Streetstocks 100.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Ricky Richner, Pete Bicknell, Todd Gordon, Rich Vinson, Scott Kerwin, Tommy Flannagan, Robbie Krull, Jeff McGinnis, Mat Williamson, Chad Brachmann, Todd Burley, Erick Rudolph, Boyd MacTavish, Dave Just, Chris Steal, Sam Crogan, Justin Sharp, Anthony Rizzardo, Bob Broomfield, Pete Cosco, Steve Schumacher, Jon Miller, Scott Just, John Smith, James Michael Friesen, Rick Hoctor and James Braunschidle. Heat winners - Dave Just, Scott Just and Sam Crogan. National Maintenance Contracting Corporation Dash for Cash Winner - Justin Sharp.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Justin Wright, Mark Chiddy, Ryan Susice, Jesse Cotriss, Ed Cain, Mike Williams, Dave Small, Steve Miller, Tony Purgarich, Derek Smith, Adam Hilton, Greg Martin, Dave Conant, Nate Reynolds, Allan Wills, Sandy Pembleton, Don Spatorico, Jim Cain, Tony Purgarich, Kevin Wills, Rich Legace, Gordon Hermanson and James Henry. Heat winners - Dave Conant, Ed Cain and Mark Chiddy.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Jaren Israel, Charles Harvey, Brandon Sherwood, Brian Lonneville, Gerald Poole, Chris Burek, Roger Israel, Scott Krull, Cory Sawyer, Mark Loveland, Webb Nashwinter, Derrick Borkenhagen, Mike Greenawalt, Mike Short, Jacob Stefanski, Randy Zimmerman, Donald Rappleyea, Timmy Kott, Chad Livermore, Kyle Wendt, Jennifer Greenawalt, Andy Smith, Joseph Rickard, Kirk Sherwood, Jason Smith, Ken Camidge and Billy Coleman. Heat winners - Jaren Israel, Roger Israel and Timmy Kott.

Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Series

Erick Gunio, Todd Bruning, Jonathon Stoelting, James Stone, Lori Brown, Ashley Harbison, Jim Harbison, Marc Morse, Rick Hess, Ryan Stephenson, Mark Brown, Chad Ledershouse and Gordon Dietz. Heat winners - Jon Stoelting and Todd Bruning.

Hometown News

View All News