Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Krull bests 123 pitside to win Modified

by jmaloni
Thu, Aug 26th 2010 12:00 pm

The record-setting 2010 season continued at Ransomville Speedway Friday, Aug. 20, as a total of 123 cars filled the pit area. Add that to the 2,000 fans in the grandstands. Many thanks are extended to Regional Haulage and Weekend Motorsports for sponsoring the Big R last Friday night. Additional thanks go out to Chad Brachmann and Anthony Rizzardo who participated in the 50/50 sell-off, which helped raise the winners' take to $934.

Are you superstitious? Robbie Krull might be after taking the win in the 30-lap Mighty Taco Modified main aboard his No. 123 entry -- with 123 cars pit side. Talk about coincidence. Krull took the lead away from Jon Miller on a lap six restart and was never seriously challenged after that point. Jeff McGinnis enjoyed his best finish of the season in second, followed by Pete Bicknell, Danny Johnson and Scott Kerwin. A total of 29 Modifieds filled the pit area - the highest of the season for a regular event.

Jesse Cotriss of Akron became the 10th different winner aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman class. Cotriss took the lead on lap six of the 25-lap event and held it through the final laps. Sandy Pembleton, James Henry, Ryan Susice and Brett Martin rounded out the top five.

Andy Smith became the 17th different winner aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division. Smith and Chris Burek put on a show that the fans won't soon forget, as they battled side by side through the final three laps for the top spot. At the line it was Smith taking the win. Brian Lonneville was able to sneak by Burek on the topside off turn four coming to the checkered.

Derrick Borkenhagen came into the night in a torrid battle for the points title. Needing a win, Borkenhagen immediately grabbed the lead and was able to maintain it through the entire distance. Borkenhagen held off persistent challenges by Cory Sawyer in the final stages. Borkenhagen took the win followed by Sawyer and Mark Loveland.

Jim Stone of Ransomville enjoyed his third win of the season aboard the 12-lap Gippsters Collision 4 Banger/Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduro. Stone took the lead away from Matt Matson on lap five and quickly distanced himself from the remainder of the field. Fellow Ransomville Firehall racer Jim Harbison took second followed by Steve Matson, Mike Pahl and Chad Lederhouse.

Rob Goulding of Port Colborne, Ontario, took the win aboard the Weekend Motorsports Mini-Stock main event. Goulding took the lead at the drop of the green and held it the entire distance. Kyle Pelrinc and Rocco Conte rounded out the top three. Austin Wood took the heat win.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish -- Robbie Krull, Jeff McGinnis, Pete Bicknell. Heat winners -- Jon Miller, Anthony Rizzardo and James Michael Friesen.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish -- Jesse Cotriss, Sandy Pembleton, James Henry. Heat winners -- Allan Wills, Sandy Pembleton and Jesse Cotriss.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 -- Andy Smith, Brian Lonneville, Chris Burek. Heat winners -- Pat Dell, Timmy Kott, and Jon Richael.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 -- Derrick Borkenhagen, Cory Sawyer, Mark Loveland.

Gippsters Collision 4 Banger/Bobcat Of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Challenge Feature Finish -- Jim Stone, Jim Harbinson, Mike Pahl. Heat winners -- Steve Matson and Matt Matson. Derek Wagner took the win in the Mike's Mile Dash.

Hometown News

View All News