Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Susice captures 50-lap Sportsman Nationals

by jmaloni
Thu, Aug 5th 2010 01:00 pm

One hundred and twenty-five cars jammed the Big R pit area last Friday night. The action was hot and heavy throughout the six-feature program that entertained the packed house on the grandstands side for the July 30 Grelak Mechanical/WGR 550 program at the Western New York oval.

Ryan Susice of Ransomville took top honors aboard the 50-lap Sportsman Nationals main event at Ransomville Speedway. Susice took the lead away from Mark Potter on lap 11 and quickly checked out on the field aboard his Investors Services-sponsored No. 38. Susice's win was the first for him in 2010 at Ransomville Speedway.

Jipp Ortiz advanced from his ninth place starting position and came home in second aboard his Original Pizza Logs-sponsored No. 0. Ortiz ran all alone in second but was unable to mount a challenge on the highflying Susice. Cody McPherson finished in third followed by Don Spatorico and Potter.

Tommy Flannagan of St. Catharines, Ontario, captured his first win of the 2010 season at the Big R aboard the Mighty Taco Modified 30-lap feature main. Flannagan dueled with Chad Brachmann through the final 10 circuits, with the pair swapping the top spots several times. Scott Kerwin joined the fray with two laps to go, giving the fans a race to end all races. Flannagan would hold onto the win aboard his No. 72 machine. Brachmann, Kerwin, Pete Bicknell and Todd Burley rounded out the top five.

Charles Harvey of Ransomville took top honors aboard the first Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Harvey took the lead early on and held off persistent challenges by Chris Burek throughout the race. Harvey collected his second win of the season in an action-packed event, which left two of the top five spin around in turn two on the final lap. Burek, Scott Krull, Kevin House and Andy Smith rounded out the top five.

Roger Israel of Wilson became the 14th different winner aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main. Israel took the lead at the drop of the green and held off persistent challenges by Don Rappleyea in the closing laps. Rappleyea settled for second, followed by Mark Loveland, Pat Dell, and Mike Greenawalt.

Steve Doell of Irondeqouit took top honors aboard the Original Pizza Logs Micro Sprint main event. Doell took the lead at the drop of the green and was never seriously challenged aboard his All Pro Painting-sponsored No. 36. A three-car battle between Ryan Greth, Tyler Walker, and Nick Cooper resulted in Greth securing the spot on lap 15. As Doell took the win ahead of 23 strong, Daryl Ruggles and Greth rounded out the top three.

Jim Stone of the Ransomville Firehall took top honors for the second time in 2010 aboard the Firehall Enduro 12-lap main. Stone and Hoyt Desso battled in the final circuits, with Stone getting the edge with just one to go. Stone took the win over Mark Brown and Desso.

Pit Notes

The Ransomville Lions will host its annual Lions Night at the Races, Friday, Aug. 20 at Ransomville Speedway.

Lion Tina Clark reports the event benefits the Niagara Frontier Radio Reading Program.

"This year we are doing things a little different and would like to offer a VIP package for $25, which includes tower seating in the VIP tower area room, admission to the pit area, catering of snacks such as nachos and cheese, popcorn, Pepsi, Diet Pepsi and ice-cold canned beer throughout the evening. This provides you the opportunity to be out of the elements and in the comfort of a dust-free air-conditioned room to watch the races," says Clark. "VIP package tickets are limited and go fast."

Clark notes there's also the grandstand admission package for the event. Tickets cost $15 each and includes grandstand admission, a picnic dinner under the pavilion, ice-cold soda, beer, and lots of fun.

All proceeds from Lions Night at the Races are donated to Niagara Frontier Radio Reading Service, Clark adds. "Last year, the annual Lions Night at the Races raised approximately $350 for the Niagara Frontier Radio Reading Service. This year, our goal is to raise $500 for the NFRRS. Will you help us make this year a success?"

Tickets will not be sold at the door. Those interested in purchasing tickets can contact Lion Betty Clark at 791-4628 or email Lion Tina Clark at [email protected]

Order of Finish

Mighty Taco Feature Finish

Tommy Flannagan, Chad Brachmann, Scott Kerwin, Pete Bicknell, Todd Burley, Mat Williamson, Boyd MacTavish, Jeff McGinnis, Ricky Richner, James Michael Friesen, Todd Gordon, Sam Crogan, Jon Miller, Bob Broomfield, Dave Just, Scott Just, Daren Latimer, Steve Schumacher, Rick Hoctor, John Smith, Justin Sharp, Rich Vinson and Anthony Rizzardo. Heat winners - Chad Brachmann, Dave Just and Jeff McGinnis.

Original Pizza Logs

Sportsman Feature Finish

Ryan Susice, Jipp Ortiz, Cody McPherson, Don Spatorico, Mark Potter, Mike Williams, Mark Chiddy, Derek Smith, Jesse Cotriss, Allan Wills, Dave Small, Greg Martin, Justin Wright, Curt Friesen, Tony Purgarich, Brett Martin, Doug Coons, Steve Miller, Nate Reynolds, Ed Cain, Gordon Hermanson, Sandy Pembleton, James Henry, Brad Rouse, Rich Lagace and Jeff Cosgrove. Heat winners -- Derek Smith, Justin Wright and Don Spatorico.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1

Charles Harvey, Chris Burek, Scott Krull, Kevin House Jr., Andy Smith, Randy Zimmerman, Jon Richael, Tim Hall, Jason Smith, Derrick Borkenhagen, Brandon Sherwood, Jaren Israel, Dave Burmaster, Kenny Washburn, Alex Morris, Webb Nashwinter and Donald Hermanson. Heat winners -- Jon Richael, Pat Dell and Charles Harvey.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2

Roger Israel, Donald Rappleyea, Mark Loveland, Pat Dell, Mike Greenawalt, Billy Coleman, Brian Lonneville, Jacob Stefanski, Gerald Poole, Cory Sawyer, Chad Livermore, Timmy Kott, Ken Camidge, Kyle Wendt, Joseph Rickard and Ron Graham.

Bobcat Of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Feature Finish

Jim Stone, Mark Brown, Hoyt Desso, Gerry Gipp, Jim Harbinson, Todd Brunning, Chad Lederhouse, Ryan Stephenson, Ashley Harbison, Marc Morse, Erick Gunio, Jonathon Stoelting, Rick Hess and Chris Lederhouse. Heat winners -- Ryan Stephenson and Hoyt Desso, Pat Dell and Charles Harvey.

comments powered by Disqus