Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Johnson tops winners list at Big R

by jmaloni
Thu, Jul 29th 2010 08:00 am

Ransomville Speedway management fought Mother Nature and won last Friday night. Despite heavy early-morning rain, the staff at the Big R forged on and at 7:15 p.m. threw the first green flag for the 106 competitors who filled the pit area on Mighty Taco and Modern Corporation night. The early-day moisture provided for plenty of side-by-side racing action.

Danny Johnson of Rochester captured the win aboard the 30-lap Mighty Taco Modified main event. Driving his Waste Management-sponsored No. 27j, Johnson took the lead away from Boyd MacTavish on lap 29 en route to his fourth win of the season at the Big R. Johnson and MacTavish gave the fans a race they won't soon forget as they swapped the lead a few times in the closing laps. MacTavish enjoyed his best finish of the season in second followed by Ricky Richner, Todd Burley and Pete Bicknell.

Don Spatorico of Ransomville took top honors aboard the 25-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main. Just when it appeared as though Spatorico would settle for a runner-up finish, he found something going down the backstretch on the final lap. Spatorico ducked to the inside of Ryan Susice as the pair entered turn three and was able to make the move stick as they exited turn four. Spatorico collected the very exciting win over Susice, Jesse Cotriss, Justin Wright and Mark Potter.

Pat Dell of Ransomville took top honors for the second time in 2010 aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division. Dell took the lead at the drop of the green and maintained the top spot through the entire 15 laps. Gerald Poole, Chris Burek, Kenny Washburn and Mark Loveland rounded out the field.

Mike Greenawalt of Niagara Falls became the 13th different winner in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division after he took the win in the second 15-lap main. Greenawalt took the lead away from Brian Lonneville as the white flag flew and went on for the big win aboard his Investors Services No. 17d. Brian Lonneville, Cory Sawyer, Alex Morris and Donald Rappleyea rounded out the top five.

Gary Watier Jr. took top honors aboard the Gippsters Collision 4 Banger 12-lap feature main. The trio of Watier, Marika Morris, and Eugene Washburn swapped the lead several times in the closing laps with Watier leading the most important one. Matt Jenks, Richard Zellner, Matt Matson and Steve Matson rounded out the top five.

Order of Finish

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Danny Johnson, Boyd MacTavish, Ricky Richner, Todd Burley, Pete Bicknell, Todd Gordon, Scott Kerwin, Rich Vinson, Robbie Krull, Sam Crogan, Jeff McGinnis, Scott Just, James Michael Friesen, Anthony Rizzardo, Bob Broomfield, Rick Hoctor, Dave Just, Darren Latimer, Chad Brachmann, Mat Williamson, Justin Sharp, Jon Miller, Shawn Sliter, Steve Schumachner and Tommy Flannigan. Heat winners - Scott Kerwin, Boyd MacTavish and Mat Williamson.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Don Spatorico, Ryan Susice, Jesse Cotriss, Justin Wright, Mark Potter, Mark Chiddy, Greg Martin, Sandy Pembleton, Greg Margyka, Jipp Ortiz, James Henry, Mike Williams, Nate Reynolds, Luke Carleton, Steve Miller, Doug Coons, Gary Lindburg, Jeff Cosgrove, Dave Conant, Brett Martin, Derek Smith, Allan Wills and Tony Purgarich. Heat winners - James Henry, Brett Martin and Don Spatorico.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 - Pat Dell, Gerald Poole, Chris Burek, Kenny Washburn, Mark Loveland, Scott Krull, Derrick Borkenhagen, Timmy Kott, Jacob Stefanski, Charles Harvey, Andy Smith, Ken Camidge, Jennifer Greenawalt and Jason Smith. Heat winners - Billy Coleman, Kenny Washburn and Pat Dell.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 - Mike Greenawalt, Brian Lonneville, Cory Sawyer, Alex Morris, Donald Rappleyea, Webb Nashwinter, Roger Israel, Brandon Sherwood, Joseph Rickard, Kirk Sherwood, Jon Richael, Jason Kuhn, Kyle Wendt, Billy Coleman and Jaren Israel.

Gippsters Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish - Gary Watier Jr., Matt Jenks, Richard Zellner, Matt Matson, Steve Matson, Marika Morris, Mike Pahl, Derek Wagner, Pat O'Keefe, Jamie Woods, Zack Sam, Ryan Plante, Ken Washburn, Brett Rowles, Don Spillman, Anthony Hermanson, Chris Leone, Eugene Washburn, Matt Mouldon, Jose Torres, Joey Zimmerman, Ronel Lauiz, Todd Edsell, Dan Walchuk, Mike Robinson, Mark Eaton and Mike McCabe. Heat winners - Marika Morris, Mike Pahl and Matt Matson.

For more information, visit the Big R Web site.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News