Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Johnson wins first-ever 'Battle at the Border'

by jmaloni
Thu, Jul 8th 2010 07:00 am

The inaugural Battle at the Border is officially in the books, as Ransomville Speedway completed the schedule highlight last Friday night. A total of 30 358 Modifieds gathered in Western New York looking for the $5,000 grand prize. Another 51 Sportsman and Streetstocks filled the pit area, bringing the car count to 81 with just three divisions on the card.

Danny Johnson of Rochester took top honors at the first-ever Battle at the Border, $5,000 to win, Modified 75, presented by Waste Management and Gater Racing News. By virtue of the redraw trackside, Johnson drew the pole position and quickly established himself as the car to beat. Driving his Waste Management-sponsored No. 27j, Johnson took control at the drop of the green and maintained it through the entire 75 laps. With his win, Johnson helped fellow American drivers collect $1,500 in bonus dollars.

Brett Hearn took the runner up position away from Pete Bicknell on lap 58, but was unable to mount a challenge on the 27j. Hearn collected a cool $2,500, plus an additional $300 bonus as the second American driver to cross the line. Bicknell held on for third, followed by Robbie Krull and Todd Burley.

Allan Wills of Ransomville captured his second win of the 2010 season aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman division. Wills took the lead at the drop of the green and maintained it through the entire 25-lap main. Wills, who skipped his graduation ceremony a week ago in order to race, was greeted trackside by a large group of crew and fans. Ed Cain enjoyed his best finish of the season coming home second, followed by Mark Chiddy, Greg Martin and Steve Miller.

Scott Krull of Cambria took top honors aboard the first 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main. Krull took the lead on lap seven by default as leader Gerald Poole slipped high and made contact with the turn four guardrail. Krull was able to maintain the top spot through the final 15 circuits and claim his first win of the 2010 season. Krull became the 12th different winner in the class. Don Rappleyea, Derrick Borkenhagen, Charles Harvey and Poole rounded out the top five.

Jaren Israel of Wilson captured his third win of the 2010 season aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main. Israel took command on lap two and was never seriously challenged aboard his No. 10 entry. Brandon Sherwood, Mike Greenawalt, Kenny Washburn, and Billy Coleman.

Pit Notes

Kaleigh Sherwood made her first start in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstocks last Friday. Unfortunately, she also had her first encounter with the front stretch guardrail, ending her night early.

Coming up: Summer Nationals Modified 100 - $10,000 to win, Aug. 6.

Order of Finish

•Battle At The Border Modified Feature Finish - Danny Johnson, Brett Hearn, Pete Bicknell, Robbie Krull, Todd Burley, Chad Brachmann, Scott Kerwin, James Michael Friesen, Randy Chrysler, Ricky Richner, Jeff McGinnis, Boyd MacTavish, Mat Williamson, Rich Vinson, Tommy Flannagan, Tim Jones, Adam Ferri, Ryan Susice, Anthony Rizzardo, Bob Broomfield, Sam Crogan, Jon Miller, Scott Just, Stew Friesen, Justin Sharp, Dave Just, Steve Schumacher, Todd Gordon and Rick Hoctor. Heat winners - Scott Kerwin, Robbie Krull and Pete Bicknell.

•Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Allan Wills, Ed Cain, Mark Chiddy, Greg Martin, Steve Miller, Ryan Susice, Mike Williams, Tony Purgarich, Nate Reynolds, Derek Smith, Don Spatorico, Jesse Cotriss, James Henry, Sandy Pembleton, Mark Potter, Dave Small, Doug Coons, Dan Norton, Brett Martin, Jeff Cosgrove, Tony Pangrazio, Jipp Ortiz and Justin Wright. Heat winners - Greg Martin, Steve Miller and Mark Chiddy.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 - Scott Krull, Don Rappleyea, Derrick Borkenhagen, Charles Harvey, Gerald Poole, Tim Kott, Jake Stefanski, Mark Loveland, Chad Livermore, Kyle Wendt, Brian Lonneville, Ken Camidge and Roger Israel. Heat winners - Scott Krull, Roger Israel and Pat Dell.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 - Jaren Israel, Brandon Sherwood, Mike Greenawalt, Kenny Washburn, Billy Coleman, Randy Zimmerman, Chris Burek, Jon Richael, Tim Hall, Joseph Rickard, Tim Raymond, Pat Dell and Webb Nashwinter.

For more information visit www.ransomvillespeedway.com.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News