Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Vinson tops list of winners at Big R

by jmaloni
Thu, Jul 1st 2010 01:00 pm

A total of 122 cars signed in pit side last Friday night as Honeoye Auto Parts, Dig Safely NY, and Wendt's Propane presented a full card of Mighty Taco Modifieds, Original Pizza Logs Sportsman, Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstocks, Gippsters Collision 4 Bangers, and Original Pizza Logs Micro Sprints at Ransomville Speedway.

Rich Vinson of Sanborn took top honors aboard the 30-lap Mighty Taco Modified feature main. Vinson took the lead away from Jon Miller on lap 16 and quickly moved away from the field. Vinson became the sixth different winner in the division.

Danny Johnson edged out Todd Burley at the line for the runner up position, dropping Burley to third in the finish. The pair had to come from deep in the pack without the aid of any yellow flags. "Mr. Smallblock" Pete Bicknell came home in fourth while Miller held on for a top five finish. The 30-lap main went from green flag to checkered flag without a caution.

Justin Wright of Piffard captured his second win of the season aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman class. Wright took the lead away from Brett Martin on lap 16 and was never seriously challenged after that point. Wright took the win over defending points champion Ryan Susice, Derek Smith, Jesse Cotriss and Martin.

Derrick Borkenhagen enjoyed his second feature win of the season aboard the first 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock feature main. Borkenhagen took the lead away from Mike Greenawalt on lap eight after Greenawalt slipped high in turn two. Borkenhagen pulled away from the field and collected the win. Greenawalt, Jaren Israel, Brandon Sherwood and Billy Coleman rounded out the top five.

Timmy Kott captured his first ever feature win on the big track aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main. Kott took the lead at the drop of the green and built up a substantial lead prior to a caution on lap 10 that bunched up the field. Kott was able to hold Charles Harvey at bay and collect a very popular win.

Jim Radney won the Original Pizza Logs Micro Sprint feature 15-lap main by a bumper over David Ferguson. Radney led the field through the first 14 circuits essentially unchallenged. With the white flag in hand, Ferguson caught and challenged Radney in turn two. Ferguson just edged ahead but Radney would not be denied as he pulled back alongside in turns three and four. The pair came off turn four side by side with Radney taking the win by inches at the line. Ferguson came home in second followed by Nick Cooper, Tyler Walker, and A.J. Bogino

Matt Jenks used a late race caution to just edge out Gary Watier Jr. in the Gippsters Collision 4 Banger division. The 26-car strong field put on a great show for the fans as they battled three- and four-wide through the 12-lap race. Coming home in third was Derek Wagner followed by Steve Matson and Jamie Woods.

Pit Notes

Allan Wills skipped his high school graduation in order to attend and compete aboard his Sportsman entry. That's dedication.

Happy belated birthday to Robert Brachmann, who celebrated his 92nd birthday at the Big R. Best wishes for many, many more.

Coming up at the Big R: the Summer Nationals Modified 100 - $10,000 to win - Aug. 6.

Order of Finish

•Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Rich Vinson, Danny Johnson, Todd Burley, Pete Bicknell, Jon Miller, Bob Broomfield, Chad Brachmann, Justin Sharp, Dave Just, Sam Crogan, Mat Williamson, Jeff McGinnis, Robbie Krull, Tommy Flannigan, Boyd MacTavish, James Michael Friesen, Scott Kerwin, Todd Gordon, Tim Jones, Anthony Rizzardo, Ricky Richner, Pete Cosco, Mike Nash, Steve Schumacher, Rob Winters, Scott Just and Rick Hoctor. Heat winners - Anthony Rizzardo, Bob Broomfield and Jon Miller.

•Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Justin Wright, Ryan Susice, Derek Smith, Jesse Cotriss, Brett Martin, James Henry, Steve Miller, Mike Williams, Don Spatorico, Mark Chiddy, Greg Martin, Sandy Pembleton, Mark Potter, Jipp Ortiz, Nate Reynolds, Allan Wills, Ed Cain, Doug Coons, Dan Norton, Tony Purgarich, Tony Pangrazio. Heat winners - Tony Purgarich, Derek Smith and Jesse Cotriss.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 - Derrick Borkenhagen, Mike Greenawalt, Jaren Israel, Brandon Sherwood, Billy Coleman, Jon Richael, Scott Krull, Joseph Rickard, Ken Camidge, Mark Loveland, Tim Raymond, Kenny Washburn and Ben Harms. Heat winners - Brian Lonneville, Mike Greenawalt and Timmy Kott.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 - Timmy Kott, Charles Harvey, Gerald Poole, Brian Lonneville, Pat Dell, Donald Rappleyea, Kirk Sherwood, Roger Israel, Brandon Poole, Chris Burek, Webb Nashwinter, John Carlson, Jennifer Greenawalt, Jacob Stefanski and Chris Worczak.

•Gippsters Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish - Matt Jenks, Gary Watier Jr., Derek Wagner, Steve Maton, Jamie Woods, Zack Sam, Justin Israel, Pat O'Keefe, Mike Pahl, Joey Zimmerman, Gary Camidge, Dan Walchuk, Richard Zellner, Ryan Plante, Ken Washburn, Mike Robinson, Matt Mouldon, Todd Edsell, Anthony Hermanson, Ed Martin, Brett Rowles, Darren Bailey, Mark Eaton, Eugene Washburn, Marika Morris and Matt Matson. Heat winners - Rich Zellner and Gary Watier Jr.

•Original Pizza Logs Micro Sprint Feature Finish - Jim Radney, David Ferguson, Nick Cooper, Tyler Walker, AJ Bogino, Steve Doell, Alysha Ruggles, Darryl Ruggles, Steve Fonte, Matthew Farnham, Jim Lafler, Todd Cummings, Ben Kysor, Bob Finley, Kirsten Dombroski, Keith Heater and Eric Wise. Heat winners - David Ferguson and Al Bogino.

For details, visit www.ransomvillespeedway.com.

comments powered by Disqus