Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Stewart Friesen wins first Sprint car main

by jmaloni
Thu, Jun 24th 2010 09:00 am

Last Friday, for the seventh straight show of 2010, Ransomville Speedway enjoyed car counts numbering in the triple digits. A total of 100 cars signed in pit side to do battle on DiMino's Lewiston Tops Markets and A-Verdi Storage Container Night. The packed grandstands enjoyed plenty of side-by-side racing action led by the winged wonders - the ASCS Patriot Sprints. The 50-50 hit was over $1,000 for the second straight week - thanks to Mark Potter and Jesse Cotriss for teaming up with Cheryl and Ashley for the weekly driver sell-off.

Stewart Friesen of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario captured his first ever Sprint car feature main at his "home" track of Ransomville Speedway. Friesen made just his fourth start in one of the winged machines, but to spectators he drove as if he has been doing it forever. Friesen took control at the drop of the green but lost it to Jared Zimbardi on an early race restart. Friesen used a slide job at the other end of the speedway to regain the point position and never looked back. Friesen took the very popular win over Bobby Breen, Blake Breen, Zimbardi and George Suprick.

Don Spatorico of Ransomville took top honors aboard the 25-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main event. Spatorico took the lead away from Sandy Pembleton on a lap 19 restart and quickly pulled away from the pack. Pembleton held on for a second place finish, followed by defending champion Ryan Susice, Justin Wright and Jesse Cotriss. Spatorico became the first driver to get a repeat win in the Sportsman rank this season.

Chris Burek of Wilson became the ninth different winner aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock ranks. Burek swapped paint on the final circuit with Jon Richael as the pair exited turn three. Burek was able to edge ahead at the line with Jaren Israel in tow for second. Richael had led every lap to that point. Following Israel across the line was Pat Dell, Richael and Andy Smith.

Donald Rappleyea of Lockport took top honors aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Rappleyea took the lead at the drop of the green and maintained it through a late race challenge by defending champion Derrick Borkenhagen. Rappleyea became the 10th different winner aboard the full-fendered division. Borkenhagen, Kenny Washburn, Mark Loveland, and Roger Israel rounded out the top five.

Steve Matson of Ransomville took top honors aboard the 12-lap Gippsters Collision 4 Banger division. Matson took the lead away from Gary Watier Jr. on lap five and never looked back. Matson picked up his first win of the season. In just its second year of existence - the entry-level 4 Banger division boasted a record-setting 27 entries. A lap one red slowed the pace as Paul Plante took a wild ride in turn one. Plante came to rest on his roof after a quick rollover. While his racer suffered substantial damage, Plante was A-OK.

Order of Finish

•ASCS Patriot Sprint Finish - Stewart Friesen, Bobby Breen, Blake Breen, Jared Zimbardi, George Suprick. For complete finish - see the ASCS Patriot Sprint official story.

•Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Don Spatorico, Sandy Pembleton, Ryan Susice, Justin Wright, Jesse Cotriss, Derek Smith, Jipp Ortiz, James Henry, Mark Chiddy, Mike Williams, Mark Potter, Ed Cain, Greg Martin, Brett Martin, Steve Miller, Tony Purgarich, Allan Wills, Ross Vleck and Nate Reynolds. Heat winners - Sandy Pembleton, Derek Smith and Jesse Cotriss.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 - Chris Burek, Jaren Israel, Pat Dell, Jon Richael, Andy Smith, Mike Greenawalt, John Carlson, Webb Nashwinter, Brandon Sherwood, Ben Harms, Chris Worczak, Joseph Rickard, Timmy Kott and Tim Raymond. Heat winners - Jon Richael, Jacob Stefanski and Kenny Washburn.

•Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 - Donald Rappleyea, Derrick Borkenhagen, Kenny Washburn, Mark Loveland, Roger Israel, Gerald Poole, Brian Lonneville, Charles Harvey, Jennifer Greenawalt, Alex Morris, Billy Coleman, Brandon Poole, Chad Livermore, Jacob Stefanski, Scott Krull, Kirk Sherwood and Kyle Wendt.

•Gippsters Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish - Steve Matson, Gary Watier Jr., Jamie Woods, Justin Israel, Eugene Washburn, Zack Sam, Matt Matson, Ed Martin, Derek Wagner, Mike McCabe, Richard Zellner, Matt Jenks, Ryan Plante, Joey Zimmerman, Brett Rowles, Anthony Hermanson, Marika Morris, Don Spillman, Gary Holzman, Donald Hermanson, Ken Washburn, Derrick Washburn, Gordon Gau, Matt Mouldon, Darren Bailey and Paul Plante. Heat winners - Rich Zellner and Justin Israel.

•Coming up - Battle at the Border Modified 75 - $5,000 to win - July 2, and Summer Nationals Modified 100 - $10,000 to win - Aug. 6. For details, visit www.ransomvillespeedway.com.

comments powered by Disqus