Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Chiddy, Harvey post first-ever wins at Ransomville

by jmaloni
Sat, Jun 5th 2010 08:00 pm

Friday, May 28, was a stellar night at the Big R, as over 100 cars jammed the pit area for the fourth straight week. Labatt and National Maintenance Contracting Corporation presented a 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified main event in addition to a complete show of Original Pizza Logs Sportsman, Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstocks, and Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduros. Picture perfect weather greeted the 2,000-plus race fans in attendance as they witnessed plenty of side-by-side racing action throughout the night.

Stewart Friesen of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada, proved you can go home again, as he invaded the Big R last Friday in victorious fashion aboard the 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified feature event. Friesen dazzled race fans with three wide action, as he advanced from his 18th place starting position to take the lead away from Tommy Flannagan on lap 29. Piloting the 6-star machine, Friesen took a very popular win, putting an end to the Danny Johnson winning streak. Johnson and Pete Bicknell battled for position in the final laps with Bicknell edging out Johnson at the line for second. Johnson, Chad Brachmann, and Boyd MacTavish rounded out the top five.

Mark Chiddy of Boston, NY won his first-ever feature main at Ransomville Speedway last Friday. Chiddy took control at the drop of the green aboard the 25-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main and quickly pulled away from the field. Chiddy was in his own zip code as the field received the five to go signal. Chiddy took the win aboard his Mullen Industrial-sponsored No. 54, followed by Ryan Susice, Greg Martin, Jesse Cotriss and Don Spatorico.

Brian Lonneville of Sanborn took top honors aboard the first 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Lonneville inherited the lead after contact between Pat Dell and Mark Loveland left the top two around in turn three. Lonneville held the point position through the final laps, just edging out Mike Greenawalt for the win. Greenawalt, Gerald Poole, Don Rappleyea and Brandon Sherwood rounded out the top five.

Charles Harvey of Ransomville, NY took top honors aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Much to the delight of the fans, Harvey collected his first ever feature win aboard his No. 01h machine. Harvey withstood challenges from defending champion Derrick Borkenhagen in the closing laps. Borkenhagen, Scott Krull, Chris Burek and John Carlson rounded out the top five.

Chris Lederhouse of the Ransomville Firehall captured the win aboard the 12-lap Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall main event. Lederhouse took the lead in the early going and held off persistent challenges by Todd Brunning in the closing laps. Brunning was able to hold on to second followed by Jonathon Stoelting, Tim Durfy and Erick Gunio.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Stewart Friesen, Pete Bicknell, Danny Johnson, Chad Brachmann, Boyd MacTavish, Todd Burley, Mat Williamson, James Michael Friesen, Scott Kerwin, Justin Sharp, Ricky Richner, Jeff McGinnis, Anthony Rizzardo, Sam Crogan, Dave Just, Todd Gordon, Pete Cosco, Steve Schumacher, Jon Miller, Scott Just, Bobby Winters, Robbie Krull, Rick Hoctor, Rich Vinson, Mike Nash, Bob Broomfield, Bill Torissi and Tommy Flannagan. Heat Winners - Rich Vinson, Boyd MacTavish and Scott Kerwin.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Mark Chiddy, Ryan Susice, Greg Martin, Jesse Cotriss, Don Spatorico, Steve Miller, Derek Smith, Jipp Ortiz, Justin Wright, Nate Reynolds, Sandy Pembleton, Mike Williams, Dave Small, Mark Potter, Tony Purgarich, Brett Martin, Dan Norton, Curt Friesen, Allan Wills, Gordon Hermanson and James Henry. Heat Winners - Mark Chiddy, Jesse Cotriss and Allan Wills.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1 - Brian Lonneville, Mike Greenawalt, Gerald Poole, Don Rappleyea, Brandon Sherwood, Mark Loveland, Kenny Washburn, Jaren Israel, Billy Coleman, Chris Worczak, Ken Camidge, Pat Dell, Kevin House, Jason Kuhn, Kirk Sherwood and Kyle Wendt. Heat Winners - Scott Krull, Brian Lonneville and Jon Richael.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2 - Charles Harvey, Derrick Borkenhagen, Scott Krull, Chris Burek, John Carlson, Ben Harms, Jon Richael, Andy Smith, Tim Hall, Randy Zimmerman, Jennifer Greenawalt, Webb Nashwinter, Roger Israel, Donald Hermanson, Joseph Rickard, Timmy Kott and Jacob Stefanski.

Bobcat Of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Feature Finish - Chris Lederhouse, Todd Brunning, Jonathon Stoelting, Tim Durfy, Erick Gunio, Ashley Harbison, Jim Harbison, Ryan Stephenson, Gordon Dietz, Gerry Gipp, Marc Morse and Chad Lederhouse. Heat Winners - Chad Lederhouse and Chris Lederhouse.

Coming up at the Big R - Battle at the Border Modified 75 - $5,000 to win on July 2, and the Summer Nationals Modified 100 - $10,000 to win on Aug. 6.

For more information, visit www.ransomvillespeedway.com.

Hometown News

View All News