Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Johnson heads winners at Big R

by jmaloni

Ransomville Speedway

Sat, May 22nd 2010 09:00 am

Bright blue skies greeted race fans for Johnston's Restaurant night, Friday, May 14, at Ransomville Speedway. A total of 100 cars signed in pit side, making it the Big R's second straight event with car counts in the triple digits. A great crowd was also on hand to enjoy the side-by-side racing action.

Danny Johnson of Rochester took a very popular win aboard the 30-lap Mighty Taco Modified feature main. Johnson took the lead away from Todd Gordon on lap 17 and quickly pulled away from the field. Johnson took his first checkered of the year aboard his Waste Management-sponsored No. 27j. Pete Bicknell Todd Burley, Todd Gordon, and Rich Vinson rounded out the top five.

Nate Reynolds of Newfane won his very first Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main event. Reynolds took the lead away from Curt Friesen just after the midway point of the 25-lap main and never looked back. Reynolds took the win over Friesen Mark Potter, Sandy Pembleton, and Don Spatorico. In post race tech Friesen was found out of spec.

Mark Loveland of Niagara Falls topped the field aboard the first 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Loveland took the lead away from Kirk Sherwood on lap seven and continued to set the quick pace to the checkered. Sherwood stayed glued to the back bumper of Loveland, resulting in a second place finish. Gerald Poole, Billy Coleman, and Chris Burek rounded out the top three.

Webb Nashwinter of Ransomville captured the win aboard the second 15-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Nashwinter took command at the drop of the green and maintained it for the entire distance. Scott Krull came home in second followed by John Carlson, Brandon Sherwood, and Donald Rappleyea.

Jim Stone of Ransomville took the win aboard the Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Series. Stone was in the right place at the right time as he inherited the lead on lap 10 when current leader Jim Harbison came to a stop behind the stalled car of Chad Lederhouse. Stone took the win over Mark Brown, Jon Stoelting, and Ryan Stephenson.


Special events highlight the schedule for the next two Fridays at the Big R, as the three main divisions of Mighty Taco Modifieds, Original Pizza Logs Sportsman, and Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstocks will each race in 50-lap mains. On May 21, Investors Services presents a $1,000 to Win Sportsman 50-lapper along with a $500 to Win Streetstock 50-lapper. On May 28, Labatt and National Maintenance Contracting Corporation present a 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified main event. Be sure to log onto www.ransomvillespeedway.com for a complete schedule.

Johnston's Restaurant Feature Finishes

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Danny Johnson, Pete Bicknell, Todd Burley, Todd Gordon, Rich Vinson, Scott Kerwin, Chad Brachmann, Robbie Krull, James Friesen, Boyd MacTavish, Jeff McGinnis, Dave Just, Steve Schumacher, Mat Williamson, Ricky Richner, Sam Crogan, Bob Broomfield, Tommy Flannagan, Justin Sharp, Rick Hoctor, Mike Nash, Dennis Giancola, Bill Torissi, Anthony Rizzardo, Scott Just, and Pete Cosco. Heat winners - Pete Bicknell, Todd Gordon, and Scott Kerwin.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Nate Reynolds, Mark Potter, Sandy Pembleton, Don Spatorico, Mike Williams, Justin Wright, James Henry, Brad Roush, Greg Martin, Mark Chiddy, Jesse Cotriss, Brett Martin, Ryan Susice, Ed Cain, Dave Small, Derek Smith, Steve Miller, Dan Norton, Gordon Hermanson, Ricky Newton, Tony Purgarich, Allan Wills and Curt Friesen. Heat winners - Don Spatorico, Curt Friesen, and Mike Williams.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 1

Mark Loveland, Kirk Sherwood, Gerald Poole, Billy Coleman, Chris Burek, Roger Israel, Jaren Israel, Timmy Kott, Kevin House, Jennifer Greenawalt, Kenny Washburn, Mike Greenawalt, Dave Conant, Ken Camidge, and Brian Lonneville. Heat winners - Mark Loveland, Kirk Sherwood, and Scott Krull.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish No. 2

Webb Nashwinter, Scott Krull, John Carlson, Brandon Sherwood, Donald Rappleyea, Tim Hall, Jon Richael, Ben Harms, Derrick Borkenhagen, Randy Zimmerman, Bob Urtel, Jason Kuhn, Charles Harvey, Dave Burmaster, Jacob Stefanski, Joseph Rickard, and Kyle Wendt.

Bobcat of Buffalo Firehall Enduro Series Finish

Jim Stone, Mark Brown, Jon Stoelting, Ryan Stephenson, Hoyt Desso, Todd Bruning, Erick Gunio, Gordon Dietz, Lori Brown, Gerry Gipp, Tim Durfy, Ashley Harbinson, Jim Harbinson, Chad Lederhouse, Chris Lederhouse, Mark Morse, Rick Hess, and Jimmy Pringle. Heat winners - Lori Brown and Ryan Stephenson.

Hometown News

View All News