Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Wheatfield honors volunteers

Fri, Apr 27th 2018 07:00 am
As part of volunteer appreciation week, the Town of Wheatfield held its first volunteer recognition and training dinner for the Comprehensive Planning Implementation Task Force, numbering 30 volunteers, on Wednesday, April 18.
The task force is made up of volunteers from many walks of life. Some are retired and some are employed, but all devote as much time as their schedules allow to projects benefitting the residents of Wheatfield and its surrounding communities. The task force is broken down into focus groups addressing agriculture, buildout, community development, energy application, disaster management, greenspace and the veterans memorial.
The agriculture focus group's representatives work in cooperation with the Niagara Military Affairs Council to ensure the sustainability of the Niagara Air Reserve Station, which employs hundreds of residents who support local businesses.
The task force welcomes anyone interested in volunteering to visit the town's website, wheatfield.ny.us, for more information. One can also call the town clerk's office at 692-6441. This will ensure a call back to help prospective volunteers get involved.
Pictured, from left, Doris Leaderstorf, Emily Frank, Paul Lehman, Justin Higner, Richard Torcasio, Walter Garrow, Rita Kontak, Don Proefrock, Joe Malloy, Michael Zarbo, Richard Muscatello, Donald Dee and Tom Kontak. Absent from the photo: Zakery Carr, Deb DiBartolomeo, Dan Frederick, Walter Freiert, Karen Frieder, Frances Galdon, Joseph Gargas, Art Gerbec, Michele Hoerner, Victor Mish, Stuart Newman, Julie Otto, David Sayles, Richard Silvaroli, Ed Sturgeon, Hubert Swanson and Jason Wozniak.

Hometown News

View All News