Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Click image to enlarge.
Click image to enlarge.

Rotary/PTSA Students of the Year honored

Sat, Jun 4th 2016 07:00 am

Twelve students from Grand Island High School were honored Tuesday at the Buffalo Launch Club as the Rotary/PTSA Students of the Year.

Kaegebein Elementary School Principal Mary Haggerty, also a Rotarian, was the chairwoman of the awards dinner and said the 12 honorees "represent the very best of Grand Island."

"This is one of my favorite events that we hold each year," Amber Storr, Rotary Club president, told the honorees, their friends, parents and fellow Rotarians. "You're going find that education is the one thing that will not depreciate from the moment that you invest in it."

Also on hand for the event were T. Michael Carter, assistant principal at Grand Island High School, and PTSA president Cynthia Sharpe.

Pictured on the front steps of the Buffalo Launch Club are the honorees, from left, front row: Grand Island Rotary Club President Amber Storr, Melanie Sweeney, Maya Harper, Julia Lawley, Michaela Kozek, Gabrielle Robinson, Yaling Chen and Grand Island High School Assistant Principal T. Michael Carter. Back row: Amber Schwinn, Emelie-jo Scheffler, Benjamin Freedman, Adam Dryfhout, Justine Cardone and Marissa Freedman. (Photo by Larry Austin)

Hometown News

View All News