Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara-Wheatfield board prepares for 2015-16 school year

Fri, Jul 10th 2015 03:25 pm

By Jill Keppeler

Tribune Editor

With one major exception - the swearing-in of a new superintendent - business went pretty much as usual at the annual reorganization meeting of the Niagara-Wheatfield Board of Education.

Board members Steven Sabo and Richard Sirianni were swore in as board members after winning re-election unopposed in the May vote. Sabo was re-elected as board president, while Christopher Peter was re-elected as vice present.

Daniel Ljiljanich was sworn in as the new district superintendent, to succeed Lynn Fusco. For the past three years, Ljiljanich served as the superintendent of Silver Creek school district. He was hired as the new Niagara-Wheatfield superintendent in May.

 Robin Vertino was reappointed and sworn in as district clerk. Other appointments included Maureen Mack as purchasing agent, Marjorie Strobel as district treasurer, Rebecca Ashby as district tax collector, and Kristine Hill as internal claims auditor, Kelsey Baldwin as deputy treasurer and Margaret Beebe as attendance clerk.

From among a long list of approvals and appointments, the board OK'd Harris Beach and Personius Melber for district legal counsel, but board member Gina Terbot requested that the board consider seeking requests for proposals for other legal options.

"Harris Beach is pretty high-priced, and I'd like to see what's out there," she said.

In the regular Board of Education meeting following the reorganization meeting, the board voted to issue RFPs for legal services for the school year. The board also:

•Approved the tax warrant for the 2015-16 school year, with a levy of $32,690,386. Taxes are due from Sept. 1 to Oct. 2; a 2 percent penalty is applied to those who pay from Oct. 3 to Nov. 4.

•Moved its August board meeting from Aug. 5 to Aug. 19. The meeting will take place at 7 p.m. at the Adult Learning Center at Niagara-Wheatfield High School, 2292 Saunders Settlement Road.

•Reminded school district residents who wish to apply for veterans tax exemptions that they must do so at their town assessor's office. The Town of Niagara assessor's office is located at 7105 Lockport Road, Niagara Falls; the Town of Wheatfield assessor's office is located at 2800 Church Road, Wheatfield.

•Spent a period of time in executive session to discuss "the employment of a particular person." No action was taken on this item.

Hometown News

View All News