Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Wayne Jagow photo courtesy of the Niagara County Historical Society
Wayne Jagow photo courtesy of the Niagara County Historical Society

Jagow to receive 19th annual Key to the Locks Award


Tue, Apr 30th 2024 03:35 pm

The Rev. Wayne Jagow has been named the recipient of the 19th annual Key to the Locks Award. Organizers said Jagow was nominated and chosen for a lifetime of volunteer community service to residents and organizations of Niagara County.

Jagow has donated his time to many service organizations over more than 40 years. He volunteered with the Wrights Corners Fire Co.; served as a member and president of the Cornell Cooperative Extension’s board of directors; was a co-founder and president of Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Niagara County; was a member of the Niagara County Commission on the Status of Women; was the first coordinator of the Niagara County bicycle safety program and Junior Fire Setters prevention program; co-chaired the Niagara County Bicentennial Commission; and served with a number of other community associations.

Lockport Mayor John Lombardi III will present the award to Jagow in a ceremony at the Erie Canal Discovery Center, 24 Church St., at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 18. The public is invited to attend.

A press release noted, “The annual Key to the Locks Award was established in 2006 to recognize persons in Niagara County who exemplify the community spirit – or promote the heritage or preservation – of the historic Erie Canal.”

Previous recipients of the Key to the Locks Award include Michael W. Tucker and Robin Brock; David Kinyon; Jane Whitmore; Clinton J. Starke; Becky Burns; Joseph A. Whalen; Jeffery Degnan; Carol Schmelz; Rosemary Bernard; Dianne Koplas; Joel M. Beyer; David M. Chatt; Charlene Bower; John McKee; Bill and Peggy Mayberry; George Fritz; Jacqueline Connelly; and Charles Begley.

Hometown News

View All News