Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

(Submitted photos)
(Submitted photos)

Wheatfield, Niagara County officers sworn into office


Tue, Jan 2nd 2024 10:10 am


In the spirit of “Government Closest To The People,” a very fine inaugural event took place on this first day of the year 2024 at the Wheatfield Community and Senior Center with the swearing-In and official installation of officers of the Town of Wheatfield, and of members of the Niagara County Legislature. This included a blessed invocation and sermon by Rev. Bob Heisner and the giving of the oaths of office by former legislative chairman and town councilman Bill Ross to Niagara County legislators Rebecca Wydysh (also legislative chairwoman), Jesse Gooch and David Godfrey.

This was followed uniquely with the dual swearing-in of twin supervisors Don MacSwan of Wheatfield and John MacSwan of Cambria. Next was the oaths given by Town Justice Gary Strenkoski to town councilmen Gilbert Doucet and Larry Helwig, and thence to Town Clerk Kathy Harrington-McDonell. Finally, Rev. Heisner blessed our food and congratulated all in attendance for their steadfast commitment to their families, faith, communities and country.

Honored attendees included town councilmen Randy Retzlaff and Curt Doktor, former town councilman James Heuer, Town Justice Angela Stamm-Philips, Niagara County Corrections Chaplain Bill Witmore, and retired Town Budget Director Ed Mongold.

(Decorations, photos and story by Justin J.M. Higner, town historian)


Hometown News

View All News