Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

From left, Ethan Peck, Rebecca Romijn and Anson Mount star in `Star Trek: Strange New Worlds` on Paramount+. (CBS photo by Michael Gibson)
From left, Ethan Peck, Rebecca Romijn and Anson Mount star in "Star Trek: Strange New Worlds" on Paramount+. (CBS photo by Michael Gibson)

Paramount+ announces premiere dates & additional seasons for 'Star Trek' Universe series

Press Release

Tue, Jan 18th 2022 07:35 pm

Paramount+, the streaming service from ViacomCBS, on Tuesday announced new season premiere dates and additional 10-episode-long season pickup orders across the service’s “Star Trek” Universe live-action series:

“Star Trek: Discovery” has been renewed for a fifth season. Season four returns with new episodes on Thursday, Feb. 10.

Season two of “Star Trek: Picard” will premiere Thursday, March 3. Following the premiere, new episodes will drop weekly on Thursdays. “Star Trek: Picard” is currently in production on a third season.

•“Star Trek: Strange New Worlds” has been renewed for a second season ahead of its season one debut, which will premiere on Thursday, May 5. Following the premiere, new episodes will drop weekly on Thursdays.

In addition to the live action series within the “Star Trek” Universe on Paramount+, there is more animated “Star Trek” on the horizon:

“Star Trek: Lower Decks” will return summer 2022 with a 10-episode-long third season. It has been renewed for a 10-episode-long fourth season.

•Season one of “Star Trek: Prodigy” returned Thursday, Jan. 6, with episode six. The remaining four episodes of season one’s first half will be available to stream weekly on Thursdays, with episode 10 available to stream on Thursday, Feb. 3. The additional 10-episode-long second half of season one will be available on Paramount+ later in 2022.

“Four years ago, we made a promise to grow ‘Star Trek’ into something it had never been before and, thanks to the incredibly hard work done by our many talented showrunners, writers and directors, along with the extraordinary support of CBS Studios and Paramount+, we’re keeping our word,” said Alex Kurtzman, architect and executive producer, “Star Trek” franchise. “Now our current shows are set up for the future as we work to build ‘Trek’s’ next phase of programming for years to come.”

•Season four of “Star Trek: Discovery” finds Capt. Burnham and the crew of the U.S.S. Discovery facing a threat unlike any they’ve ever encountered. With Federation and non-Federation worlds alike feeling the impact, they must confront the unknown and work together to ensure a hopeful future for all.

The series is produced by CBS Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment. Kurtzman, Michelle Paradise, Heather Kadin, Aaron Baiers, Olatunde Osunsanmi, Frank Siracusa, John Weber, Rod Roddenberry and Trevor Roth serve as executive producers. Kurtzman and Paradise serve as co-showrunners.

“Star Trek: Discovery” season four cast members include Sonequa Martin-Green (Capt. Michael Burnham), Doug Jones (Saru), Anthony Rapp (Paul Stamets), Mary Wiseman (Sylvia Tilly), Wilson Cruz (Dr. Hugh Culber), David Ajala (Cleveland “Book” Booker) and Blu del Barrio (Adira).

•“Star Trek: Picard” features Patrick Stewart reprising his iconic role as Jean-Luc Picard, which he played for seven seasons on “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” and follows this iconic character into the next chapter of his life. The series is produced by CBS Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment. For season two, Kurtzman, Akiva Goldsman, Terry Matalas, Stewart, Kadin, Baiers, Roddenberry, Roth, Doug Aarniokoski and Dylan Massin serve as executive producers. Goldsman and Matalas serve as co-showrunners for season two.

“Star Trek: Picard” season two cast members include Stewart, Alison Pill, Isa Briones, Evan Evagora, Michelle Hurd, Santiago Cabrera, Jeri Ryan, Orla Brady, John de Lancie, Annie Wersching and Brent Spiner.

•“Star Trek: Strange New Worlds” is based on the years Capt. Christopher Pike manned the helm of the U.S.S. Enterprise. The series will feature fan favorites from season two of “Star Trek: Discovery”: Anson Mount as Pike, Rebecca Romijn as Number One and Ethan Peck as Science Officer Spock. The series will follow Pike, Spock and Number One in the years before Capt. Kirk boarded the U.S.S. Enterprise, as they explore new worlds around the galaxy.

The series premiere was written by Goldsman with the story by Goldsman, Kurtzman and Jenny Lumet. Goldsman and Henry Alonso Myers serve as co-showrunners, with Goldsman directing the premiere episode. Goldsman, Kurtzman and Lumet serve as executive producers in addition to Myers, Kadin, Siracusa, Weber, Roddenberry, Roth and Aaron Baiers. The series is produced by CBS Studios, Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment.

Developed by Emmy Award winner Mike McMahan (“Rick and Morty,” “Solar Opposites”), “Star Trek: Lower Decks” focuses on the support crew serving on one of Starfleet’s least important ships, the U.S.S. Cerritos, in 2380. Ensigns Mariner, Boimler, Rutherford and Tendi have to keep up with their duties and their social lives, often while the ship is being rocked by a multitude of sci-fi anomalies. The Starfleet crew residing in the “lower decks” of the U.S.S. Cerritos, includes Ensign Beckett Mariner, voiced by Tawny Newsome, Ensign Brad Boimler, voiced by Jack Quaid, Ensign Tendi, voiced by Noël Wells, and Ensign Rutherford, voiced by Eugene Cordero. The Starfleet characters that comprise the ship’s bridge crew include Capt. Carol Freeman, voiced by Dawnn Lewis; Cmdr. Jack Ransom, voiced by Jerry O’Connell; Doctor T’Ana, voiced by Gillian Vigman; Lt. Shaxs, voiced by Fred Tatasciore; Lt. Billups, voiced by Paul Scheer; and Lt. Kayshon, voiced by Carl Tart.

The series is produced by CBS’ Eye Animation Productions, CBS Studios’ new animation arm; Secret Hideout; and Roddenberry Entertainment. Secret Hideout’s Kurtzman and Kadin, Roddenberry Entertainment’s Roddenberry and Roth, and Katie Krentz (219 Productions) serve as executive producers, alongside creator and showrunner McMahan. Baiers (Secret Hideout), who brought McMahan to the project, also serves as an executive producer. Titmouse (“Big Mouth”), the Emmy Award-winning independent animation production company, serves as the animation studio for the series.

Developed by Emmy Award winners Kevin and Dan Hageman (“Trollhunters” and “Ninjago”), the CG-animated series “Star Trek: Prodigy” is the first “Star Trek” series aimed at younger audiences, and follows a motley crew of young aliens who must figure out how to work together while navigating a greater galaxy, in search of a better future. These six young outcasts know nothing about the ship they have commandeered – a first in the history of the “Star Trek” franchise – but over the course of their adventures together, they will each be introduced to Starfleet and the ideals it represents.

“Star Trek: Prodigy” is from CBS’ Eye Animation Productions, CBS Studios’ new animation arm; Nickelodeon Animation Studio, led by President of Animation Ramsey Naito; Secret Hideout; and Roddenberry Entertainment. Kurtzman, Kadin, Baiers, Krentz, Roddenberry and Roth serve as executive producers, alongside co-showrunners Kevin and Dan Hageman. Ben Hibon directs, co-executive produces and serves as the creative lead of the all-new animated series.

“Star Trek: Prodigy” voice cast includes Kate Mulgrew (Hologram Kathryn Janeway), Brett Gray (Dal), Ella Purnell (Gwyn), Rylee Alazraqui (Rok-Tahk), Angus Imrie (Zero), Jason Mantzoukas (Jankom Pog), Dee Bradley Baker (Murf), John Noble (The Diviner) and Jimmi Simpson (Drednok).

Hometown News

View All News