Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Metro Creative Graphics
Metro Creative Graphics

ECDOH launches 'test to stay' program with 17 school districts, 11 non-public schools


Wed, Jan 12th 2022 04:50 pm

Beginning this week, the Erie County Department of Health (ECDOH) has launched the “test to stay” program with 17 Erie County school districts and 11 non-public schools. These schools expressed an interest in implementing the “test to stay” option for their students, and will work closely with the ECDOH epidemiology school team to coordinate testing and data reporting.

ECDOH shared information with these schools on how to pick up a supply of COVID-19 test kits, and the department said it hopes many schools will begin this program by the end of the week.

The “test to stay” program allows students, who would otherwise be subject to quarantine at home, to attend classes following an in-school COVID-19 exposure, as long as they remain symptom free. Additional documentation from NYSDOH indicates that school staff are also eligible for this program. ECDOH is incorporating this and other updates into its protocols, and will communicate these and future anticipated updates regularly to participating schools.

Participating schools and school districts include:

  • Alden Central School District
  • Akron Central School District
  • Amherst Central School District
  • Clarence Central School District
  • Cleveland Hill UFSD
  • Eden Central School District
  • Erie 1 BOCES
  • Frontier Central School District
  • Grand Island Central School District

  • Iroquois Central School District
  • Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda UFSD
  • Lackawanna City School District
  • Lancaster Central School District
  • Sweet Home Central School District
  • Tonawanda City Schools
  • Williamsville Central School District
  • West Seneca Central School District


  • Bishop Timon – St. Jude High School
  • Buffalo Seminary
  • Canisius High School
  • Christian Central Academy
  • Mount Mercy Academy
  • Nardin Academy
  • The Park School of Buffalo
  • Sacred Heart Academy
  • St. Joseph's Collegiate Institute
  • South Buffalo Charter School
  • Tapestry Charter School

ECDOH said expects other schools and school districts to participate in the coming weeks.

The department also coordinates COVID-19 screening and proximate testing programs with a number of schools in Erie County. Parents and families should contact their child’s school principal or administration for information about what options are offered at their school.

Schools and school districts with a limited service license and medical director can email [email protected] to participate in “test to stay.” ECDOH is coordinating an option for schools without an LSL to have access to a license from a third-party. Schools can also email [email protected] to ask about that option.

Hometown News

View All News