Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

A photo of the Office for the Aging team setting up to distribute coupons outside the offices at 111 Main St., Lockport. Pictured, from left: Stacey Norris, Robin Bayer, Amy Ohlenschlager, Sue Christian, Darlene DiCarlo and Kara Donovan.
A photo of the Office for the Aging team setting up to distribute coupons outside the offices at 111 Main St., Lockport. Pictured, from left: Stacey Norris, Robin Bayer, Amy Ohlenschlager, Sue Christian, Darlene DiCarlo and Kara Donovan.

Niagara County Office for the Aging distributing farmers market coupons

Submitted

Thu, Jul 15th 2021 06:50 pm

The Niagara County Office for the Aging has begun distributing farmers market coupon booklets at sites throughout Niagara County. The Senior Farmers’ Market Nutrition Program, provided by the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, provides coupons to all who meet age and income requirements. Each booklet contains five coupons worth $4 each ($20 total), which can be used to buy fresh, locally grown fruits and vegetables at participating farmers’ markets throughout New York.

To qualify of coupons, seniors must be 60 years of age and either entitled to receive SSI, Public Assistance, SNAP or Section 8 Housing subsidy; or be within monthly income guidelines as follows:

$1,986 for a one-person household,

$2,686 for a two-person household

$3,386 for a three-person household

“We very much encourage senior across Niagara County who quality to take advantage of these coupons and purchase fresh fruits and vegetables from our local farmers,” said Darlene DiCarlo, director of the Office for the Aging. “We have distributing at sites across the county to make it easy to get your coupons.”

Upcoming distribution sites include:

Thursday, July 15

Niagara County OFA

111 Main St., Lockport

11 a.m. to noon

Saturday, July 17

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday, July 19

Pine Senior Housing

6231 Tonawanda Creek N., Lockport

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 21

Canterbury Senior Housing

4057 Crescent Drive, North Tonawanda

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 21

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

Thursday, July 22

Newfane Community Center

2737 Main St., Newfane

10 a.m. to noon

Saturday, July 24

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday, July 26

Calvin Richards Senior Center

7100 Lockport Road, Niagara Falls

*COVERED

Monday, July 26

Niagara Towers

901 Cedar Ave., Niagara Falls

11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 29

Spallino Towers

720 10th St., Niagara Falls

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 29

Wrobel Towers

800 Niagara Ave., Niagara Falls

11 a.m. to noon

Saturday, July 31

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 2

Wheatfield, Sawyer, Summitview

6849 Plaza Drive, Niagara Falls

*COVERED

Tuesday, Aug. 3

Middleport Villa

89 Telegraph Road #B, Middleport

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 4

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 4

Wilson Villa

240 Autumnview Drive, Wilson

 

Thursday, Aug. 5

John Duke Senior Center

1201 Hyde Park Blvd., Niagara Falls

10 a.m. to noon

Saturday, Aug. 7

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 9

NT Senior Ctr. Congregate Site

110 Goundry St., North Tonawanda

11 a.m. to noon

Tuesday, Aug. 10

LaSalle Congregate Site

Colvin Boulevard, LaSalle

11 a.m. to noon

Wednesday, Aug. 11

Willows Senior Housing

3990 Forest Parkway, North Tonawanda

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 12

St. Isaac Jogues Senior Housing

7200 Williams Road, Niagara Falls

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 14

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 16

Lockport Senior Ctr. Congregate Site

33 Ontario St., Lockport

11 a.m. to noon

Tuesday, Aug. 17

Mt. Zion Church

1353 Calumet Ave., Niagara Falls

10 a.m. to noon

Wednesday, Aug. 18

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 18

NT Farmers Market

Robinson St., North Tonawanda

10 a.m. to noon

Saturday, Aug. 21

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 24

St. John's AME Nutrition

Garden Avenue, Niagara Falls

11 a.m. to noon

Wednesday, Aug. 25

Olcott Nutrition

Olcott Fire Hall Comm. Room

11 a.m. to noon

Saturday, Aug. 28

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

9 a.m.-1 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 1

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 15

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 29

Lockport Community Farmers Market

57 Canal St., Lockport

2-6 p.m.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News