Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

ECDOH Narcan training schedule for spring

Submitted

Tue, Mar 30th 2021 04:45 pm

Public invited to virtual training dates, in-person sessions

The Erie County Department of Health and the Erie County Opiate Epidemic Task Force are announcing the spring schedule for trainings on recognizing the signs of an opioid overdose and on using Narcan and naloxone to reverse an opioid overdose.

ECDOH is also resuming limited in-person Narcan trainings, starting with two sessions in the Town of Hamburg. Each session is open to the first 30 registrants. Social distancing guidelines will be followed. Participants must wear masks. Each participant will receive a certificate of completion and a free Narcan kit with referral resources.

Virtual trainings are offered in a one-hour format as “lunch and learns” for individuals who would participate during a lunch break, and also in a 90-minute format. Participants who provide a mailing address will receive a free Narcan kit after the training is complete. Participants will need a computer with internet access or a smart phone with the ability to access WebEx.

Register for virtual or in-person trainings at http://www.erie.gov/opioidtrainings.

Spring 2021 Schedule

•In-person trainings:

  • Wednesday, April 14, 6-8 p.m., Taylor Road Family Recreation Facility, 6765 Taylor Road, Hamburg,
  • Tuesday, May 11, 6-8 p.m., Taylor Road Family Recreation Facility, 6765 Taylor Road, Hamburg

•Virtual Trainings

  • Thursday, April 15, 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 17, 9-10:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, April 28, 11 a.m. to noon
  • Thursday, May 20, 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 22, 9-10:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, May 26, noon to-1 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 17, 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 19, 9-10:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, June 23, 3-4 p.m.

Additional resources:

•Register for ECDOH opioid trainings: http://www.erie.gov/opioidtrainings

•Text for Narcan: 716-225-5473

•Request an emergency Narcan Box for your business: 716-858-7695

•Buffalo & Erie County addiction hotline: 716-831-7007

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News