Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Gillian Anderson in `The Crown.` (Netflix photo by Des Willie)
Gillian Anderson in "The Crown." (Netflix photo by Des Willie)

'Nomadland,' 'The Crown' lead winners at 26th Annual Critics Choice Awards


Mon, Mar 8th 2021 12:35 pm

Each earn 4 awards at Taye Diggs-hosted ceremony

Sunday night, the Critics Choice Association announced winners of the 26th annual Critics Choice Awards live on The CW during an in-person/virtual hybrid ceremony hosted for the third time by acclaimed film, television and stage star Taye Diggs.

“Nomadland” led the winners in the film categories, taking home four awards, including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay for Chloé Zhao, and Best Cinematography for Joshua James Richards. Zhao is the first Chinese woman to win as either director or writer.

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” followed closely behind, winning three categories, including Best Actor for the late Chadwick Boseman, Best Costume Design, and Best Hair and Makeup. Best Actress was awarded to Carey Mulligan for “Promising Young Woman,” which also earned a Best Original Screenplay win for Emerald Fennell. Best Supporting Actor went to Daniel Kaluuya for “Judas and the Black Messiah,” and Best Supporting Actress to Maria Bakalova for “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.”

In the series categories, “The Crown” took four categories, the most of the night, winning Best Drama Series, Best Actor in a Drama Series for Josh O’Connor, Best Actress in a Drama Series for Emma Corrin, and Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for Gillian Anderson. In the comedy genre, “Ted Lasso” won all three categories for which it was nominated: Best Comedy Series, Best Actor in a Comedy Series for Jason Sudeikis, and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Hannah Waddingham. “The Queen’s Gambit” took the prize for Best Limited Series, and its leading lady Anya Taylor-Joy won Best Actress in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television.

The race for “Best Comedy Special,” which was dominated entirely by Netflix nominees, resulted in a tie between “Jerry Seinfeld: 23 Hours to Kill” and “Michelle Buteau: Welcome to Buteaupia.”

As was previously announced, John David Washington presented this year’s SeeHer Award to his “Malcolm & Marie” co-star, Zendaya. The SeeHer Award recognizes a woman who embodies the values set forth by the SeeHer movement, to push boundaries, defy stereotypes and acknowledge the importance of authentic portrayals of women across the entertainment landscape.

After leading the nominations, Netflix also won the most awards of any studio/network with a total of 14. Amazon Studios and Searchlight Pictures each won four.

Critics Choice Awards are bestowed annually to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. Historically, they are the most accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations.

The 26th annual Critics Choice Awards show was produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment. The CCA is represented by Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig.

Follow the 26th annual Critics Choice Awards on Twitter and Instagram @CriticsChoice and on www.Facebook/CriticsChoiceAwards. Join the conversation using #CriticsChoice and #CriticsChoiceAwards.

Hometown News

View All News