Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Metro Creative Connection
Metro Creative Connection

NYS residents urged to stay away from 40 states, as Arizona, Maryland added to COVID-19 travel advisory


Tue, Oct 20th 2020 05:00 pm

Nonessential interstate travel between Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania discouraged

Gove. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced Arizona and Maryland were added to New York's COVID-19 travel advisory. No areas have been removed. 

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Neighboring states Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania now meet the criteria for the travel advisory – however, given the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between states, Cuomo said a quarantine on these states is not practically viable. That said, New York state highly discourages, to the extent practical, nonessential travel to and from these states while they meet the travel advisory criteria.

"We are now in a situation where 43 states meet the criteria for our travel advisory. This is really a bizarre outcome, considering New York once had the highest infection rate," Cuomo said. "There is no practical way to quarantine New York from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut. There are just too many interchanges, interconnections, and people who live in one place and work in the other. It would have a disastrous effect on the economy and, remember, while we're fighting this public health pandemic, we're also fighting to open up the economy. However, to the extent travel between the states is not essential, it should be avoided."

The full, updated travel advisory list is available below:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. Colorado
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Guam
  10. Iowa
  11. Idaho
  12. Illinois
  13. Indiana
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maryland
  18. Michigan
  19. Minnesota
  20. Missouri
  21. Mississippi
  22. Montana
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Nebraska
  26. New Mexico
  27. Nevada
  28. Ohio
  29. Oklahoma
  30. Puerto Rico
  31. Rhode Island
  32. South Carolina
  33. South Dakota
  34. Tennessee
  35. Texas
  36. Utah
  37. Virginia
  38. Wisconsin
  39. West Virginia
  40. Wyoming

Hometown News

View All News