Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Metro Creative Connection
Metro Creative Connection

4 states added to travel advisory requiring 14-day quarantine


Tue, Sep 8th 2020 03:35 pm

Delaware, Maryland, Ohio & West Virginia meet metrics to qualify for travel advisory; Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands are removed

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced four additional states – Delaware, Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia – meet the metrics to qualify for New York's COVID-19 travel advisory. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands have been removed. The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

New York's COVID-19 infection rate has been below 1% for 32 straight days. The number of new cases, percentage of tests that were positive and other data points are available at forward.ny.gov.

"Individuals coming from other states continue to be a problem, and today we're adding four more states to New York's travel advisory. We now have 35 high-risk states in this country, which is incredible," Cuomo said. "We're entering a new, different post-Labor Day phase. After Labor Day, people start to get back to work, schools are opening, activity is increasing, colleges are opening, you see traffic starting to increase. So we have to keep that in mind as we move forward and we need to remain vigilant and smart so that we don't backslide."

The full, updated travel advisory list is below:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Guam
  9. Hawaii
  10. Iowa
  11. Idaho
  12. Illinois
  13. Indiana
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maryland
  18. Minnesota
  19. Missouri
  20. Mississippi
  21. Montana
  22. North Carolina
  23. North Dakota
  24. Nebraska
  25. Nevada
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. South Carolina
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. Virginia
  34. Wisconsin
  35. West Virginia

Hometown News

View All News