Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

5 states removed from NYS COVID-19 travel advisory requiring 14-day quarantines


Tue, Aug 25th 2020 02:50 pm

Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana removed; Guam meets metrics to qualify

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced five states – Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana – have been removed from New York state's COVID-19 travel advisory. Guam has been added.

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average, or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

New York has had a rate of positive tests below 1% for 18 straight days. On Monday, two deaths were reported from COVID-19, matching the state's previous low. No deaths were reported in New York City. The governor also updated New Yorkers on the state's progress during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The number of new cases, percentage of tests that were positive and other helpful data points are available at forward.ny.gov.

"New Yorkers made enormous sacrifices to get our numbers as low as they are today, and we don't want to give up an inch of that hard-earned progress. That's why these travel advisory precautions are so important – we don't want people who travel to states with high community spread to bring the virus back here," Cuomo said. "While it's good news that five states have been removed from the travel advisory, the list remains far too long as America continues to struggle with COVID-19. New Yorkers should stay vigilant and be careful – wear a mask, socially distance, and be smart. This pandemic is not over."

The full, updated travel advisory list is below:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. California
  4. Florida
  5. Georgia
  6. Guam
  7. Hawaii
  8. Iowa
  9. Idaho
  10. Illinois
  11. Indiana
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Minnesota
  16. Missouri
  17. Mississippi
  18. North Carolina
  19. North Dakota
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Puerto Rico
  24. South Carolina
  25. South Dakota
  26. Tennessee
  27. Texas
  28. Utah
  29. Virginia
  30. Virgin Islands
  31. Wisconsin

Hometown News

View All News