Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

COVID-19: 2 additional states added to travel advisory


Tue, Aug 18th 2020 12:45 pm

Alaska & Delaware meet metrics to qualify for travel advisory

11th straight day with infection rate below 1%

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced two additional states meet the metrics to qualify for the travel advisory requiring individuals who have traveled to New York from those states – all of which have significant community spread – to quarantine for 14 days. The newly added states are Alaska and Delaware. No areas have been removed.

The governor also announced that, for the 11th straight day, New York's rate of positive tests was below 1%. Cuomo also updated New Yorkers on the state's progress during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The number of new cases, percentage of tests that were positive and many other helpful data points are available at forward.ny.gov.

"New York state is moving forward in the face of a continuing crisis throughout the nation and around the world – we've gone from one of the nation's worst infection rates to one of its best and have an infection rate below 1% for the 11th straight day – but that's no excuse for getting complacent as we add two more states to our travel advisory," Cuomo said. "Our success in this fight is determined – more than anything – by the actions each of us takes in daily life – washing our hands, properly social distancing and wearing masks – and by the willingness of local governments to be competent partners and to enforce state guidance. We continue to move in the right direction, but it's up to all of us to slow the spread and stay safe."

The full, updated list of states on the travel advisory is below:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. California
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Hawaii
  10. Iowa
  11. Idaho
  12. Illinois
  13. Indiana
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maryland
  18. Minnesota
  19. Missouri
  20. Mississippi
  21. Montana
  22. North Carolina
  23. North Dakota
  24. Nebraska
  25. Nevada
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Puerto Rico
  28. South Carolina
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. Virginia
  34. Virgin Islands
  35. Wisconsin

Hometown News

View All News