Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Alzheimer's Association WNY offering virtual education, other programs & services

Submitted

Tue, Mar 31st 2020 12:45 pm

Across New York, it is estimated there are more than 400,000 individuals living with some type of dementia, with another 1 million-plus people providing some kind of care for them. Their needs for access to help, support and education are ongoing.

So, to address those needs, the Alzheimer’s Association Western New York Chapter is offering a number of virtual programs accessible from any location via computer or mobile device.

Chapter dementia care consultants are planning a number of free online classes for participants to attend from the safety and comfort of their own homes. In the month of April, these education programs will be offered virtually:

•Overview of Virtual Programs and Services

  • Friday, April 3 – 2 p.m.
  • Friday, April 17 – 2 p.m.

•Understanding Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia

  • Tuesday, April 7 – noon
  • Tuesday, April 14 – noon
  • Tuesday, April 21 – noon
  • Tuesday, April 28 – noon
  • Wednesday, April 29 – 8 a.m.

•Know the 10 Warning Signs

  • Friday, April 10 – 2 p.m.
  • Friday, April 24 – 2 p.m.

•Effective Communication Strategies

  • Thursday, April 2 – 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 22 – 8 a.m.
  • Thursday, April 30 – 6 p.m.

•Understanding and Responding to Dementia-Related Behaviors 

  • Thursday, April 9 – 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 15 – 8 a.m.

•Legal and Financial Planning for Dementia

  • Wednesday, April 8 – 8 a.m.
  • Thursday, April 16 – 6 p.m.

•Dementia Conversations

  • Thursday, April 23 – 6 p.m.

•Meaningful Activities for Family Caregivers

  • Monday, April 20 – 1:30 p.m.

To register for any/all of these classes or learn how to access them, visit: bit.ly/WNYeducation or call 1-800-272-3900.

Caregiver support group meetings are also being offered in a number of ways, including telephone conference calls and webinars. To learn more about taking part in a virtual support group meeting, visit: bit.ly/WNYsupport. The association’s around-the-clock helpline is also available to answer questions about programs and how to access them, address concerns, and discuss other resources. That number is 1-800-272-3900.

Confidential care consultations to discuss care planning, finances, and more will continue to be available via telephone to the helpline: 1-800-272-3900. Video chats are also possible for these free virtual meetings.

And finally, the association has a dedicated website to help caregivers whose loved one is at home and those whose loved one is residing in an assisted living facility, That website is: www.alz.org/COVID19.

About the Alzheimer’s Association

The Alzheimer's Association leads the way to end Alzheimer's and all other dementia – by accelerating global research, driving risk reduction and early detection, and maximizing quality care and support.

The Western New York Chapter provides programs, services and other resources for those living with dementia, their care partners, health care professionals and others across eight counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming.
learn more by calling 716-626-0600 during traditional business hours, or 24/7 at 800-272-3900 or www.alz.org/WNY.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News