Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Nominate someone for 15th annual Key to the Locks Award


Tue, Mar 3rd 2020 02:00 pm

Nominations are being accepted for the 15th annual Key to the Locks Award, established to recognize persons in Niagara County who exemplify the community spirit or promote the heritage or preservation of the historic Erie Canal. Forms are available at The History Center, 215 Niagara St., Lockport, and at niagarahistory.org. The deadline for nominations is April 1.

The 2019 Key to the Locks Award was given to John McKee for his work supporting canal education and preservation. Previous winners have included Dianne Koplas for encouraging historical education and tourism; David Chatt for organizing and running the volunteer locktender program; and Charlene Bower for her work with landscaping the canal area.

The 15th annual Key to the Locks Award ceremony will take place at 3:30 p.m. Saturday, June 13, in the Erie Canal Discovery Center, 24 Church St., Lockport. Call 716-434-7433 for more information.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News