Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Discover 'The History and Mystery Surrounding the Spalding Mill'

Submitted

Tue, Jan 28th 2020 12:55 pm

The first in a collaborative series of four free programs with The Niagara County Historical Society and the Historic Palace Theater will take place at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 26, at The Historic Palace Theater, 2 East Ave, Lockport. Dr. Scott Geise will present “The History and Mystery Surrounding the Spalding Mill.”

The Spalding Mill is as old as the Erie Canal itself and, for nearly a century, had sat silently behind a disheveled concrete parking ramp on Pine Street – unbeknownst to many Lockport residents. When the ramp eventually fell into disrepair and was removed, one could finally see what time had hidden away for so long.

This presentation will explore not only the history of the Spalding Mill, but also how waterpower in Lockport spurred the curiosity and innovation of many other businesses, all connected by the same waterway – the Mill Race. Why this story has been lost to time is a mystery, including the immense impact it had on the village up until electricity became the more popular form of generating high-voltage energy.

Guests can take a 3-D virtual tour through the Spalding Mill, something only a few dozen people or so have done for the past 100 years.

This program is free and open to the public. Donations are appreciated. The Palace concessions will be open. For more information, call 716-434-7433 or The Historic Palace at 716-438-1130. Additional programs will take place in March, April and May.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News