Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Congressional District NY-27 chairs endorse Chris Jacobs as Republican candidate for Congress


Mon, Jan 27th 2020 08:35 am

The eight-county Republican chairs met in Varysburg last week and, after thorough deliberation, voted to endorse New York State Sen. Chris Jacobs as the Republican candidate in the special election for Congress in the NY-27th District.

They said, “Sen. Chris Jacobs has been a champion for the taxpayers of Western New York. With a strong background in the private sector, and a long legacy of public service on the Buffalo School Board, as Erie County clerk and State Senator in the 60th District.

“We have an embarrassment of riches, with strong Republican leaders from across Western New York standing up to take on the mantle of responsibility as a representative in Congress. From informal talks to the formal interview process, it has been the shared responsibility of each county chair to endorse the best qualified candidate to run and represent NY-27.”

The elected official will replace Chris Collins, who resigned his seat following charges of insider trading.

In addition to Jacobs, the committee interviewed and considered New York State Sen. Robert Ortt, Jeffry Freeland, Beth Parlato and Erie County Comptroller Stefan Mychajliw.

The GOP said, “Gov. Andrew Cuomo played political games with this race, forcing an uneven playing field by suggesting the NY-27 special election be on presidential primary day amidst a highly contested Democrat primary. We agree unanimously that each Republican included has the credentials to represent the taxpayers of NY-27. After interviewing each candidate thoroughly and having a full discussion between all parties, there were two candidates with strong support. The eight county leaders chose to endorse Chris Jacobs for the office of NY-27.”

Pursuant to New York state election law, the duly elected county chairs are responsible for nominating a candidate to run for the special election. Voting members included:

  • Chairman Karl Simmeth, Erie County
  • Chairman Richard Siebert, Genesee County
  • Chairman John Pauer, Livingston County
  • Chairman Richard Andres, Niagara County
  • Chairman William Napier, Monroe County
  • Chairwoman Trisha Turner, Ontario County
  • Chairman Merle “Skip” Draper, Orleans County
  • Chairwoman Ellen Grant, Wyoming County

Hometown News

View All News