Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

2019 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship selections


Mon, Mar 25th 2019 10:40 am

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will participate in the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

St. Cloud State is the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, include Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State Mankato and Massachusetts.

The dates, sites, times and pairings of this year’s championship are as follows:

West Regional, March 29-30

Scheels Arena, Fargo, North Dakota

•Friday, March 29, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN3/WatchESPN

No. 1 St. Cloud State (30-5-3) vs. No. 4 American International (22-16-1)

•Friday, March 29, 4 p.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

No. 2 Denver (22-11-5) vs. No. 3 Ohio State (20-10-5)

West Regional Championship

•Saturday, March 30, 9 p.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

Northeast Regional, March 29-30

SNHU Arena, Manchester, New Hampshire

•Friday, March 29, 3 p.m., ESPN2/WatchESPN

No. 1 Massachusetts (28-9) vs. No. 4 Harvard (19-10-3)

•Friday, March 29, 6:30 p.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

No. 2 Clarkson (26-10-2) vs. No. 3 Notre Dame (22-13-3)

Northeast Regional Championship

•Saturday, March 30, 6:30 p.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

East Regional, March 30-31

Dunkin’ Donuts Center, Providence, Rhode Island

•Saturday, March 30, 1 p.m., ESPNews/WatchESPN

No. 1 Minnesota State Mankato (32-7-2) vs. No. 4 Providence (22-11-6)

•Saturday, March 30, 4:30 p.m., ESPNews/WatchESPN

No. 2 Northeastern (27-10-1) vs. No. 3 Cornell (20-10-4)

•East Regional Championship

Saturday, March 31, 4 p.m., ESPN2/WatchESPN

Midwest Regional, March 30-31

PPL Center, Allentown, Pennsylvania

•Saturday, March 30, 4 p.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

No. 1 Minnesota Duluth (25-11-2) vs. No. 4 Bowling Green (25-10-5)

•Saturday, March 30, 7:30 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN

No. 2 Quinnipiac (25-9-2) vs. No. 3 Arizona State (21-12-1)

Midwest Regional Championship

•Sunday, March 31, 6:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN

Men’s Frozen Four, April 11 and 13

KeyBank Center, Buffalo, New York

•Thursday, April 11, 5 and 8:30 p.m., ESPN2/WatchESPN (order of games TBD)

West Regional Champion vs. Northeast Regional Champion

East Regional Champion vs. Midwest Regional Champion

National Championship

Saturday, April 13, 8 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN2/WatchESPN

The following conferences and teams received automatic qualification:

  • Atlantic Hockey Association – American International
  • Big Ten Conference – Notre Dame
  • ECAC Hockey – Clarkson
  • Hockey East Association – Northeastern
  • National Collegiate Hockey Conference – Minnesota Duluth
  • Western Collegiate Hockey Association – Minnesota State Mankato

To purchase tickets for all the regional sites and the Frozen Four in addition to all information about the championship, log on to www.NCAA.com/FrozenFour.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News