Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

50 high schools 'Rise' above 1,000 applicants to claim NBC's R.I.S.E. America grants


Mon, Mar 5th 2018 01:50 pm
Winning schools each receive a $10,000 grant to support theater department; grant program inspired by NBC's upcoming drama 'Rise,' premiering March 13
Fifty high schools have risen above 1,000 applicants to claim NBC's R.I.S.E. America grants. The program - inspired by the network's upcoming drama "Rise" about a high school theater department and its effects on a small town - is awarding a half-million dollars to high school theater programs across the country. 
Through R.I.S.E. (Recognizing and Inspiring Student Expression) America, NBC has awarded each of the 50 winning schools with a $10,000 grant that will cover the critical needs of their theater programs - ranging from production expenses to technical equipment and master classes. NBC is facilitating the program in partnership with the Educational Theatre Foundation (ETF), a nonprofit organization dedicated to shaping lives through theater education.
"It is a dream come true for me that 'Rise' will have a genuine impact on 50 high school drama programs throughout the country," said Jason Katims, the show's creator and executive producer. "It has never been clearer that the future of our country rests on the shoulders of the next generation of young leaders. I am excited about the notion that the R.I.S.E. America grants will help support, inspire and nurture creative young minds throughout the country, especially at a time when arts in education is undervalued and underfunded. I am blown away by the generosity of NBC and Bob Greenblatt, along with the efforts of the Educational Theatre Foundation, who have made this all possible."
"Seeing the need school-by-school was both inspiring and a wake-up call," said Julie Cohen Theobald, president of the Educational Theatre Foundation. "The way these dedicated educators are impacting kids' lives, against the odds and without the necessary resources, is heroic. Every school was deserving, and their stories reinforce the need to continue this momentum until every school in America has a well-funded theater program."
To qualify for the grant, high schools were required to have an existing theater program or a champion of theater arts on their teaching staff in cases where a school's theater program was cut because of budget constraints. 
Each school submitted a video celebrating its theater program and a 500-word essay explaining why their school should be awarded the grant and how they will use the $10,000 should they win. They also submitted a letter of recommendation from a school principal or administrator endorsing the application.
The 50 winning high schools (in alphabetical order by state) are:
  • Charles Henderson High School (Troy, Alabama)
  • American Canyon High School (American Canyon, California)
  • Henry J. Kaiser High School (Fontana, California)
  • Mariposa County High School (Mariposa, California)
  • Vaughn Next Century Learning Center (San Fernando, California)
  • Seaside High School (Seaside, California)
  • Kunsmiller Creative Arts Academy (Denver)
  • Enfield High School (Enfield, Connecticut)
  • School Without Walls (Washington, D.C.)
  • Hallandale High School (Hallandale Beach, Florida)
  • Plant City High School (Plant City, Florida)
  • The Howard School (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Nanakuli High and Intermediate School (Waianae, Hawaii)
  • Jefferson High School (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Glenbard West High School (Glen Ellyn, Illinois)
  • Scecina Memorial High School (Indianapolis)
  • Leavenworth High School (Leavenworth, Kansas)
  • Boyle County High School (Danville, Kentucky)
  • Alfred Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School (Kenner, Louisiana)
  • The Baltimore City College (Baltimore)
  • Hamtramck High School (Hamtramck, Michigan)
  • Pine Island High School (Pine Island, Minnesota)
  • Grand Center Arts Academy (St. Louis)
  • Gautier High School (Gautier, Missouri)
  • Park High School (Livingston, Montana)
  • Malcolm Public Schools, District 148 (Malcolm, Nebraska)
  • Belmont High School (Belmont, New Hampshire)
  • Bound Brook High School (Bound Brook, New Jersey)
  • Union Senior High School (Union, New Jersey)
  • Digital Arts & Technology Academy (Albuquerque)
  • Equipo Academy East Las Vegas College Prep (Las Vegas)
  • Hastings High School (Hastings-On-Hudson, New York)
  • Peekskill High School (Peekskill)
  • James N Gamble Montessori (Cincinnati)
  • Dublin Scioto High School (Dublin, Ohio)
  • Henryetta High School (Henryetta, Oklahoma)
  • Regis St. Mary Catholic School (Stayton, Oregon)
  • Harry S. Truman High School (Levittown, Pennsylvania)
  • Mastery Charter Schools Foundation (Philadelphia)
  • Central Falls High School (Central Falls, Rhode Island)
  • Deubrook Area School District 5-6 (White, South Dakota)
  • Jackson County High School (Gainesboro, Tennessee)
  • John Overton Comprehensive High School (Nashville)
  • Alice High School (Alice, Texas)
  • Jack Yates High School (Houston)
  • Pharr San Juan Alamo North Early College High School (Pharr, Texas)
  • Heritage High School (Leesburg, Virginia)
  • Rainier Beach High School (Seattle)
  • Hudson High School (Hudson, Wisconsin)
  • Martinsburg High School (Martinsburg, West Virginia)
About 'Rise'
From Katims, executive producer and showrunner of "Friday Night Lights" and "Parenthood," and "Hamilton" producer Jeffrey Seller comes a heartening new drama about finding inspiration in unexpected places.
When dedicated teacher Lou Mazzuchelli (Josh Radnor) sheds his own self-doubt and takes over the school's lackluster theater department, he galvanizes not only the faculty and students but the entire working-class town. 
The series stars Radnor, Rosie Perez, Auli'i Cravalho, Damon J. Gillespie, Marley Shelton, Rarmian Newton, Ted Sutherland, Amy Forsyth, Casey W. Johnson, Taylor Richardson, Joe Tippett and Shirley Rumierk.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News