Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara-Wheatfield Falcon Award Wall of Fame debuts

Sat, Sep 30th 2017 07:00 am
The Niagara-Wheatfield Central School District is having a ceremony for their inaugural Niagara-Wheatfield Falcon Award Wall of Fame and the 2017 Class of the Niagara-Wheatfield Athletic Hall of Fame from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 4, at Niagara-Wheatfield High School's auditorium and cafeteria, 2292 Saunders Settlement Road.
The Falcon Wall of Fame has been instituted to honor the lifetime achievements of the alumni and staff of Niagara-Wheatfield Central School District, along with the district's community contributors. The Niagara-Wheatfield Athletic Hall of Fame has been reestablished to honor the athletic accomplishments of the alumni and staff of Niagara-Wheatfield Central School District.
The inaugural Falcon Award recipients are, Charles Clark, N-W's first superintendent; Ruth Foster, N-W's first elementary education superintendent; Joseph Rotella, N-W's first athletic director; Charles Pelcin, a Wheatfield teacher and principal; Fred Barone, a Wheatfield teacher and administrator; Ronald Corsaro, Wheatfield teacher and world-renowned musician; William Ross, a Wheatfield teacher, coach, principal, athletic director and public servant; Rev. Wayne Jagow, a Lutheran minister, Niagara County sheriff and Niagara County clerk; Dr. Tim Carlisle, a University professor and scholar; and Adm. Carl Lahti, a Naval Academy graduate and submariner.
Being inducted into the 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame is Lee Wallace, who coached N-W basketball, football and softball; Jon MacSwan, a former N-W football, track and wrestling athlete; Andrew Frank Davis, a former N-W lacrosse and diving athlete; Joe Kwiatkowski, a former N-W baseball coach; and Megan Hathaway, a former N-W basketball and track athlete.
To see more about the selection process and to access nomination forms for next year's class, go to the website, http://www.nwcsd.k12.ny.us, click on "Community," go to the drop-down menu and click on "NW Wall of Fame."
Tickets are $15 and will not be sold at the door. Send a check payable to NWCSD, and mail to: Niagara Wheatfield Central Office, ATTN: Jan Ball, 6700 Schultz St., Niagara Falls, NY 14304 by Friday, Oct. 20.

Hometown News

View All News