Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Arts Services Initiative of WNY accepting applications for Fendrick Theatre Fund


Tue, Sep 13th 2016 06:05 pm

Two $1,000 grants to be awarded this year

Arts Services Initiative of Western New York is now accepting applications for the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund. Two grants in the amount of $1,000 each will be awarded for the writing or production of new works, the new production of an existing work, experimental and multimedia theatrical productions, or the completion of works in progress. Applications will be taken online at www.asiwny.org and are due at noon Friday, Oct. 7.

Since 1989, the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund has awarded grants to individual artists to enable them to realize or take part in a specific work of theater. Eligible applicants include actors, directors, writers, designers, performance artists, musicians or any person - regardless of descriptive title or relationship to a particular institution - who contributes to the creative process of theater. This year, the grants are being made in memory of fund establishers and founders Neil Garvey and Jesse Kregal.

"Arts Services Initiative is proud to carry on the work of Neil and Jesse, and the legacy of David Fendrick, by reactivating the Fendrick Theatre Fund," ASI Executive Director Tod A. Kniazuk said. "And what better time to announce this grant than the week of 'Curtain Up!' when the community celebrates our region's amazing theater scene and the launch of a new season."

The David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund was established in memory of David Roos Fendrick (1941-88), critically applauded Western New York actor, director, writer and scholar. Fendrick was the youngest member of the first Lincoln Center Repertory Co., and went on to a respected career in regional theaters across the country, including Buffalo's Studio Arena Theatre. Among his many distinguished performances was his portrayal of Irish rebel and writer Brendan Behan in a one-man show that continues to hold the record as Buffalo's longest-running theatrical performance.

Past recipients include Tom Dooney, Robert Waterhouse, Michelle Costa, Jack Hunter, Kelli Bocock-Natale and Michael Hake, Vincent O' Neill, Jerry Finnegan, Geraldine Duskin, Kenneth Shaw, Susan Hodge Anner, Timothy White, Kelly Beuth, Anthony Cardinale, Anna Kay France and David Oliver.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News