Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

UB Alumni Association elects new president


Thu, Aug 27th 2015 12:25 pm

Mary Garlick Roll of Williamsville will serve a two-year term

Mary Garlick Roll of Williamsville was elected to serve a two-year term as president of the University at Buffalo Alumni Association, a group that represents the interests of nearly 240,000 graduates around the world.

Garlick Roll earned her bachelor's degree in nursing in 1984 and a master's degree in natural sciences and mathematics in 1988. She is the medical science liaison and national director of nursing initiatives for Heron Therapeutics, a biotechnology company that develops products to address medical needs.

In addition, she is a member of the American Nurses Association, Professional Nurses Organization of Western New York, National Association of Female Executives, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Gamma Kappa Chapter) and Western New York Oncology Nursing Society Chapter. She is also a past president of the National Oncology Nursing Society, a 37,000-member oncology nursing organization, and currently serves as a member of the ONS Past President Leadership Circle.

Garlick Roll was elected to the UBAA board of directors in 2008 and has served as a member, co-chair or chair of numerous board committees.

"I feel fortunate for the opportunity to lead the association at this pivotal time as we build on the many accomplishments of the past few years," she said. "UBAA is on the brink of promoting positive change within our university and our community. With the tremendous staff support that we receive to achieve our goals, this board will help to move the alumni association along a path to realizing our potential and achieving unprecedented success for our organization, our university and our community at large."

Other officers elected for the 2015-16 term are: Michael A. Anderson, BA Class of 1997, of Hamburg, president-elect; Carol A. Gloff, BS '75, of Natick, Massachusetts, immediate past president; Patrick J.S. Mathews, BS '03, of Williamsville, vice president for finance and chair, finance committee; Lisa M. Kirisits, MBA '87 and BS '85, of Lancaster, chair, audit committee; Rita M. Andolina, MSW '88 and BA '80, of West Seneca, chair, alumni pride committee; Ronald Balter, BA '80, of Brooklyn, chair, student recruiting committee; Gary J. Jastrzab, BA '76, of Philadelphia, chair, chapters committee; Mark J. Stramaglia, MBA '86 and BS '81, of Williamsville, chair, alumni careers committee; Lawrence J. Zielinski, MBA '77 and BA '75, of Elma, secretary.

At-large members elected are Marc A. Adler, MA '83, MBA '82 and BA '79, of Williamsville, special adviser; Jason L. Bird, BA '05, of Tonawanda; Carrie L. Boye Roof, BFA '97, of Amherst; Heather C. Brandon Sondel, BA '93, of Washington, D.C.; Robert W. Chapman, MSW '03 and BA '91, of Buffalo; Kimberly S. Conidi, JD '05 and BA '99, of West Seneca; Wayne D. Domnitz, BA '87, of Merrick; Willie R. Evans, Ed.B. '60, of Buffalo; Edward J. Graber Jr., MBA '93 and JD '92, of Orchard Park; Peter J. Grogan, BS '81, of East Aurora; Paul R. Hammer, BA '78, of Williamsville, special adviser; Mary Anne Heiser, BSN '77, of Tonawanda; Christian Lovelace, JD '06, of Buffalo; David T. Merrell, MBA '96 and BS '91 of Lancaster; Peter A. Petrella Jr., BA '00, of Lancaster; Jennifer L. Shalik, BA '07 of Buffalo; Ezra J. Staley, JD '09 and MBA '09, of Grand Island; David J. Stinner, BA '98, of Kenmore; and Oliver Young, MBA '04, of Beijing, China.

Reelected members of the board are Jeffery D. Hazel, PM.Cert. '09, PM.Cert. '09, Ed.M. '09, Ed.M. '03 and BA '99 of Amherst; Navpreet Jatana, BS '03 of Amherst; Michael J. Kennuth, BA '93 of Williamsville; Ken Lam, Ed.M. '04 and BA '01, of Amherst; Richard J. Lynch, D.D.S. '83 and BA '79 of Williamsville; Timothy F. Murphy, MBA '96 and BA '94 of Williamsville; Mark W. Nusbaum, MArch '85 and BPS '83, of New York City; Gene Elizabeth Verel, BS '73 of Buffalo; and Ann Wegrzyn, MBA '90 and BS '85, of Orchard Park.

Newly elected members of the board are Hon. Mark G. Farrell, JD '72 and BA '69, of Williamsville; Bridget E. Niland, Ed.M. '09, JD '09 and BA '95, of Amherst; Thomas A. Palmer, JD '75 and MBA '71, of East Amherst; Joseph V. Stefko, Ph.D. '03, MA '99 and BA '97, of Penfield; Mark D. Weiner, BA '72, of Wilmette, Illinois; and Adair White-Johnson, PhD '96 and Ed.M. '87, of Powder Springs, Georgia.

The UB Alumni Association is a volunteer-led international organization that provides ongoing service to alumni and a focus of alumni support for, and service to, UB, its students, faculty and staff. For more information, visit http://www.alumni.buffalo.edu.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News