Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara County Youth Board names officers

by jmaloni


Wed, Feb 4th 2015 12:15 pm

Seeks funding applications from agencies working with youth

The Niagara County Youth Board has elected its slate of officers for 2015, Youth Bureau Director Meghan Lutz announced today.

Chairing the Youth Board will be Richard Laskowski of Wilson. Gregg Tessmann of Barker will serve as vice chairman, and Dennis Stachera of Lockport will be the board's secretary.

Lutz also announced the Youth Board is seeking funding applications from nonprofit agencies that provide services for youth. The board oversees the decision-making process for funding to those agencies.

The Youth Board is charged with examining local needs and determining the relevance of current youth programs, and advising Youth Bureau staff and county lawmakers on programming. Board members engage directly with county youth to develop programs, as well as work with existing agencies that provide youth services.

The chairman of the County Legislature's community services committee, Legislator Wm. Keith McNall, R-Lockport, expressed gratitude to the volunteers on the Youth Board.

"Our county's youth are our future, and the members of our community who step up and make sure we are there for our youngest citizens are truly investing in our future," he said. "The individuals who comprise the Youth Board take on an important role, and my colleagues and I are grateful to them for their leadership."

Niagara County funds youth programs through various funding sources, including monies allocated by the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. Much of this funding is then provided to nonprofit agencies after review by the Youth Board.

Lutz said nonprofit agencies interested in applying for funding may contact her at 716-278-6872 for guidelines and application deadlines.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News