Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Poloncarz issues state of emergency in Erie County

by jmaloni

Press release

Tue, Nov 18th 2014 03:05 pm

Travel ban issued for specific towns except for emergency personnel

Erie County Executive Mark C. Poloncarz issued a state of emergency for Erie County due to the impact of a significant winter snowstorm and the aftereffects on public works and emergency services delivery in affected areas.

The state of emergency includes a travel ban for the following municipalities: all areas of the City of Buffalo south of Genesee Street, the City of Lackawanna, the Town of Alden, Town of Aurora, Town of Hamburg, the Town of Cheektowaga, the Town of Lancaster, the Town of West Seneca, the Town of Elma, the Town of Marilla, The Town of Hamburg, the Town of Orchard Park, the Village of Alden, the Village of Sloan, the Village of Depew, the Village of Lancaster, the Village of Blasdell, the Village of Hamburg, the Village of East Aurora and the Village of Orchard Park.

The only vehicles allowed to travel during this ban are emergency personnel.

"All Erie County offices will be open for essential services today," Poloncarz said. "Personnel not residing in an affected area are advised to use caution while traveling to work and obey any driving bans or advisories in place in their community. Personnel who reside below the snow line will in all likelihood not be able to travel downtown."

The Department of Social Services remains open today. Child Protective Services and Adult Protective Services have adequate staff today to make sure children are safe. For homeless services, call crisis services at 716-834-3131.

The emergency operations center in Cheektowaga that would normally be activated during weather emergencies is only partially operational due to the roads being impassable.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News