Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Nominate a recipient for 9th annual 'Key to the Locks' award

by jmaloni


Thu, Feb 27th 2014 04:05 pm

Do you know someone who deserves the "Key to the Locks" award? Once again, a Niagara County citizen will receive this honor as one who "best promotes and exemplifies the community spirit, heritage and integrity of the historic Erie Canal." This year's "Key to the Locks" award will be presented Sunday, May 4, at 2 p.m., at the Erie Canal Discovery Center, 24 Church St., Lockport.

If you'd like to recommend a recipient, visit the Niagara History Center, 215 Niagara St., or Niagara County Historian's Office, 139 Niagara St., for a nomination form. You can also visit Niagara History Center's website at http://niagarahistory.org/9th-annual-key-to-locks-award/ for a copy of the form. If you prefer, you can write your own message, including your nominee's name, address, phone number, a paragraph about why this person deserves the "Key to the Locks" award, and your own contact information. Please mail or bring completed nominations to the History Center or historian's office. The deadline for 2014 nominations is April 1.

All nominations come from the public. Previous "Key to the Locks" award winners include Becky Burns, Jeffrey Degnan, David Kinyon, former Lockport Mayor Michael Tucker, Carol Schmelz, Clint Starke, Joe Whalen and Jane Whitmore. A selection committee has been chosen to review nominations.

For further information, contact Ray Wigle at 716-434-7433 or Craig Bacon at 716-439-7324.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News