Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara Falls Bridge Commission announces appointment

by jmaloni


Wed, Feb 12th 2014 09:15 pm

Linda McAusland appointed by premier of Province of Ontario

The commissioners of the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission have announced the appointment of Linda McAusland to the board of commissioners, effective immediately. The addition of McAusland fills a vacant seat on the eight-person board, which is made up of four residents of the U.S., and four residents of Canada.

McAusland was appointed to the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission by the premier of the Province of Ontario, Kathleen Wynne.

McAusland has been with the Ontario Public Service for more than 28 years, and has worked in the Ministry of Natural Resources, Northern Development and Mines and Transportation.

McAusland is a resident of Welland. She moved to the Niagara area with the relocation of the Ministry of Transportation 20 years ago. She previously led the highways planning program and was responsible for launching the Environmental Assessments for the Niagara to GTA, GTA West, 427 North and 407 East Corridors. She was the director of transportation policy, where she led the policy delivery in several key areas, including goods movement, high-speed rail, accessibility, climate change, cycling and border governance. As the director of finance, she led the ministry in managing a $6.8 billion operating and capital program.

McAusland is currently the Assistant deputy minister and chief administrative officer for MTO, where she provides leadership for human resources, financial planning, controllership, facilities, emergency management, procurement and freedom of information.

McAusland has previously served on the board of directors for the McMaster Institute of Transportation Logistics, Canadian Transportation Research Forum and the North American Strategy for Competitiveness. She has her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Waterloo and has attended the Public Executive Program at Queen's University and the Executive Leadership Program at the Niagara Institute.

The present board of commissioners includes Chairperson Ernest Smith, Vice Chairperson Kathleen Neville, Secretary Kenneth Loucks, Treasurer Russell Quarantello, Janice Thomson, Frank Soda and Thomas Pryce.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News