Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

City of North Tonawanda to receive 2013 Construction/Repair Project of the Year from American Public Works Association - Western Branch

by jmaloni


Tue, Jan 14th 2014 08:10 pm

ity of North Tonawanda Mayor Robert G. Ortt has announced the city will be awarded the 2013 Construction/Repair Project of the Year by the Western New York Branch of the American Public Works Association. The award is for the renovation project of the Gratwick Riverside Park Marina, which began in 2012. Phase one of the project was completed in 2013.

Michael Marino, PE, of CRA Infrastructure and Engineering Inc., was the design engineer for this initiative, and submitted the project for consideration by the awards committee.

"This award promotes excellence in the management and administration of public works projects by recognizing the partnership between the managing agency and participating consultants and contractors," said Daniel J. Selder, director of APWA - WNY Branch.

Ortt stated, "I would like to thank the American Public Works Association for recognizing this project through this award. I would like to thank everyone who has been involved with the renovation of Gratwick Riverside Marina, including city Engineer Dale Marshall, Public Works Superintendent Brad Rowles and the men and women at the DPW who participated on this project, as well as Conestoga Rovers and Associates and Carol Tallichet from Specialty Restaurant Corp."

"I would also like to thank the Niagara County legislature, who awarded $300,000 in Greenway funding to this project back in 2010. This award is the latest affirmation to everyone that said this project couldn't happen. I am extremely proud of this project, and I accept this award on behalf of all the folks who made it a reality, and on behalf of the taxpayers of North Tonawanda."

By winning this award in the western region, the city is automatically entered into the New York state level of the competition Ortt and other key city officials will be present to accept the award at the association's annual awards banquet Feb. 9.

comments powered by Disqus