Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

School Bus Safety Poster Contest winners announced

by jmaloni

Taken from Nov. 8 Island Dispatch

Sat, Nov 16th 2013 12:15 am

Winners of the Grand Island Central School District's School Bus Safety Poster Contest were honored Tuesday at an award breakfast at Tops Market. Their winning posters will be judged at a state competition later in the year. Members of the Bus Safety Team and Tops Store Manager Patty Bianco were on hand to present award certificates. (photo by Larry Austin)

School Bus Safety Poster Contest winners from Sidway Elementary School, St. Stephen School, Kaegebein Elementary School, and Huth Road Elementary School were treated to breakfast at Tops Market on Grand Island Boulevard Tuesday morning, Oct. 29. The poster contest was part of the Grand Island Central School District's school bus safety program that includes classroom training, emergency bus evacuation, and safety crossing procedures. This year's contest theme was "Be Smart - Be Seen, I Wait in a Safe Place." The contest was organized by Karen Dallessandro and the Bus Safety Team and was made possible by Tops Markets and Store Manager Patty Bianco. Bus Safety Team members include Dallessandro, Denise McMahon Amy VeRost, Shawn Benzing, Nancy Heftka, Kathy Jackson and Sharlene Goode.

The students were treated to breakfast pizza, doughnuts and juice. Each student was also given a Tops cloth bag filled with prizes.

The winning posters will go on to compete against others from Western New York schools. WNY winners well then compete at the New York Association for Pupil Transportation state competition in July.

The bus safety team thanked all of the students, teachers and parents for their support.

Contest Winners

Huth Road Elementary School

Giovanni Granelli (second grade), Nathaniel VanNorman (third grade), Elizabeth Morris (fourth grade) and Yifan Shen (fifth grade).

Kaegebein Elementary School

Sarah Grover (third grade), Celia Wood (fourth grade), Rebecca Schultz (fourth grade) and Hannah Lambert (fifth grade).

Sidway Elementary School

Brady Maroni (first grade) and Leah Hurley (first grade).

St. Stephen School

Tessa Morris (second grade) and Elizabeth Judd (fifth grade).

comments powered by Disqus