Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

UNICEF donations tabulated

by jmaloni
Sat, Nov 24th 2012 07:00 am
No Prior Images
Viewing 1 of 2
View Next Image

by Lee Tetkowski


Grand Island UNICEF

The weather was dreadful on Halloween night this year. Some people said they had no trick-or-treaters! Did that happen to you?

About 1,800 little cartons were distributed to our youngsters through Jennifer Kropidlowski at Huth Road Elementary School, Maria Siebert at Kaegebein Elementary School, Linda Samland at Sidway School, Jayne Schaber at the Veronica Connor Middle School and also to the Grand Island Cooperative Nursery School and to St. Stephen School.

This is the 34th year that Grand Island Boy Scouts have opened and sorted all the coins. This is the first year that high school students from classes of Cheryl Chamberlain volunteered to spend a Saturday morning at the Grand Island KeyBank counting and rolling all those sorted coins. So, how did we do this year of the stormy weather? Short of matching our goal of $2,000 as of last year, we did collect $1,700. You can still add to this. Children in Syria and other crucial locations around the world are suffering the horrors of war now. A check to U.S. Fund for UNICEF mailed to Lee Tetkowski, UNICEF chairman, at 1530 Whitehaven Road, Grand Island, will immediately be rushed to support UNICEF's efforts. Thanks to all of you who have already helped.


Boy Scouts Troop 510

Jake Matwijkow, senior patrol leader

Evan Bedell Jesus Cisneros, Cameron Fairbairn, Max Grenda, Jason Held, Ethan Hodge, Alexander Sendlbeck, Ben Starr.

Adult Leaders

  • Pat Garten, Scoutmaster

  • Joel Bedell

  • Debbie Held, Troop Committee chair

  • Carlos Cisneros

  • Sue Grenda, assistant Scoutmaster

  • Lisa Hodge

  • Steve Winder, advancement chair

  • Dori Matwijkow

  • Lee Tetkowski, Grand Island UNICEF chair

  • Debbie Mondoux

  • Hal Pierce, former Explorer advisor Post 254

  • John Mondoux

Grand Island High School volunteer counters

Alexandra Griffin, Shannon Kieffer, Matt Sutton, Kevin Aronica, Alex Brown, Ben Purrington, Marisa Phillips, Brookeyan Peaseel, Katelyn Ruszkowski, Melissa Sainsbury, Rachael Ruszkowski.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News