Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Lew-Port hires principal

by jmaloni
Sat, Jul 28th 2012 08:10 am

New NU partnership announced

by Janet Schultz

Dean Ramirez was named Lewiston-Porter Middle School principal at a special meeting of the Lewiston-Porter Board of Education on July 18.

Ramirez, who comes from the Maryvale school system, will join the Lew-Port administrative team on Aug. 1. He replaces Karen Cuddy-Miller who took a position as assistant superintendent with the Grand Island school district.

Ramirez is a graduate of Canisius College and Buffalo State College. He is currently working on his doctorate in educational administration at the University at Buffalo. Prior to serving Maryvale as assistant principal, he taught seventh grade social studies at Maryvale and served as the head coach for the girl's varsity basketball team.

Newly elected board member Mollie Lucas was sworn in at that meeting.

In its regular meeting on July 24, the board approved the appointments of Ann Marie Oliverio and Rebecca Orsi to share the position of co-primary education center/intermediate education center/third grade department chairperson and Christopher D'Anna to high school/middle school science department chairperson.

Elizabeth Cardwell was appointed elementary education K-5 special education and related services department chairperson.

They also approved the following co- and extra-curricular appointments for the coming year: Matthew Bradshaw (varsity boys basketball), Thomas Penale (junior varsity girls basketball), Justalene Olson (modified girls basketball) and Sarah Whynot (junior varsity girls and junior varsity boys swimming).

Board member Michael Gentile announced that plans were underway for a partnership with Niagara University and Lewiston-Porter to offer several community education courses.

The Lew-Port Community Education Program was eliminated for 2012-13 due to budget constraints.

NU would offer four or five of the more popular courses and possibly introduce courses that they have been unable to offer due to lack of facilities. In addition the courses would be advertised in NU's fall brochure that reaches the entire Lew-Port community and beyond.

"It's good to have some form of community education," said Superintendent Christopher Roser. "This is a nice cross venture for Niagara University and us."

Gentile explained that NU would hold courses at the Lewiston-Porter facility and that the school district could handle the registration process, making the venture advantageous for both school and for the community residents.

At the reorganizational meeting earlier in July, Jodee Riordan was elected president of the board for a second term and Michael Skowronski took the oath of office as a newly elected member of the board.

Michael Gentile was elected vice president of the board.

Board meetings were set for the third Tuesday of each month at the Community Resource Center at 6:30 p.m. unless otherwise announced. The exception at this time is the February and May 2013 meetings that have been moved to Feb. 18 and May 28.

District officers were appointed which included Elizabeth Bajor, district clerk; Lynn Braunbach, treasurer; Deborah Sharpe, tax collector, Robin Boos, records access/records management officer and Catherine Bennion, auditor.

Also approved were other routine management policies, procedures and personnel appointments for the 2012-13 school year.

comments powered by Disqus