Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara Falls Bridge Commission elects 2012 officers

by jmaloni
Fri, Feb 3rd 2012 06:00 pm

Michael J. Goodale is elected chairman

At its annual general meeting, the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission elected its slate of officers for 2012.

Michael J. Goodale was elected chairperson, and Thomas G. Pryce was elected vice chairperson. Linda M. DiPasquale was elected secretary, and Ernest K. Smith was elected treasurer. Janice A. Thomson, Norma I. Higgs, Kenneth E. Loucks and Patrick D. Brown comprise the rest of the NFBC board.

The bi-national Niagara Falls Bridge Commission owns and operates the Rainbow, Whirlpool Rapids and Lewiston-Queenston bridges between Canada and the U.S.

U.S. Commissioners serve at the pleasure of the governor of the state of New York, and Canadian commissioners serve at the pleasure of the premier of the Province of Ontario. All officers hold their respective office.

Appointed to the NFBC in August 2008, Goodale most recently served as vice chairperson. A Grimsby, Ontario, resident, he is the assistant deputy minister (corporate services division) and chief administrative officer for the Ontario Ministry of Transportation. Goodale has worked in the Ontario Public Service for more than 30 years in a variety of progressively responsible positions with the Ministry of Transportation and the Ministry of Finance. A graduate of McMaster University in Hamilton, Goodale holds a combined honours degree in economics and urban geography.

Pryce, a Youngstown resident, was appointed to the commission in January 2008. He is the business manager and financial secretary of Iron Workers Local 9 in Niagara Falls. He has been a trustee for more than 20 years and is the long-time chairman of the Iron Workers District Council of Western New York pension, welfare and annuity funds. A graduate of Plattsburgh State, he served 12 years as a member and officer of the Lewiston-Porter Board of Education, and sits on several charitable and community development boards.

DiPasquale, appointed to the board in August 2008, is an attorney engaged in the private practice of law with offices in Buffalo. She received her Juris Doctor from the University of North Carolina School of Law at Chapel Hill and graduated Magna Cum Laude with dual degrees in English and History from Canisius College. DiPasquale is licensed to practice law in New York and North Carolina and is a member of the New York State Bar Association, Erie County Bar Association, (matrimonial law and family court practice and procedure committees), and the Western New York Women's Bar Association. DiPasquale resides in Wheatfield.

Appointed to the commission in November 2009, Smith, a resident of Niagara Falls, Ontario, is retired from Canada Immigration after more than 31 years of service with experience in such areas as enforcement, operations and intelligence. Since retiring, Smith has been contracted by the International Region of Citizenship & Immigration Canada to work as a visa officer in England, Hong Kong, Trinidad, Saudi Arabia and the U.S. Smith holds a B.A. from Waterloo Lutheran University (now Wilfrid Laurier University) in Ontario, and a Masters degree from Niagara University.

Thomson, a resident of Niagara-on-the-Lake, was appointed to the commission in April 2006 and has previously served as secretary, following two years as Chairperson (2007 and 2008). She was actively involved in the recent reconstruction of the Queenston Plaza, serving as liaison between the board of commissioners and the design and construction team. She presently occupies the position of executive director of the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce and Visitor & Convention Bureau, and previously held executive management positions at the national offices of Jaguar Canada and BMW Canada over an 18-year period. Thomson also serves as chairwoman of the Niagara Parks Commission, a board member of the Niagara Foundation and Project Niagara (Toronto Symphony-National Arts Centre), and serves on many tourism-related committees within Niagara.

Higgs, of Niagara Falls, was reappointed to the commission in January 2008 and served as chairwoman in 2009. A member previously from 1976 to 1996, she served several terms as chairperson during that period. Higgs is presently retired from New York State Supreme Court, where she was employed as a special assistant to two Supreme Court justices. She resides in Niagara Falls, and is actively involved in the local community. She presently serves as board secretary to the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center and the Niagara Beautification Commission. She is also treasurer of the Niagara Falls Block Club Council. Higgs writes a weekly column in the Niagara Gazette and plans events for many local community organizations.

Loucks, a resident of Sauble Beach, Ontario, and formerly of St. Catharines, was appointed to the commission in April 2006, and served as chairperson in 2010. Loucks is professor emeritus of the Faculty of Business, Brock University, and the holder of HBA, MBA and Ph.D. degrees from the Ivey School of Business, University of Western Ontario. His career in education encompasses appointments at two secondary schools and three universities in Ontario, and two adjunct appointments in Australia. He is a specialist in entrepreneurship and business strategy. Throughout his career, Loucks has maintained an active management consulting practice. He has served as a consultant to bilateral and multilateral development agencies in small enterprise creation and economic development programming with assignments in more than 30 countries. During his career, he has served on numerous public and private sector boards and commissions.

Brown, a resident of Niagara Falls, was appointed to the commission in December 2007, and most recently served as chairman in 2011. Brown is a certified public accountant and partner with Brown & Company CPA's of Niagara Falls. He brings extensive and diversified financial management, business accounting and budgeting experience to the commission. He is also an active member of the community through service to the following organizations: adviser to Niagara Military Affairs Council; Town of Niagara Industrial Development Agency officer; Town of Niagara Business & Professional Association treasurer/board member; Lewiston Kiwanis Club member and past treasurer; Niagara Falls Water Authority member; Lewiston/Niagara County Peach Festival volunteer and finance co-chair; and Town of Niagara/Fashion Outlets of Niagara USA Fund committee member.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News