Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Wheatfield reorganization meeting quiet

by jmaloni
Thu, Jan 5th 2012 09:25 am

by Susan Mikula Campbell

Once the issue of the problems at the Niagara County SPCA had been discussed and the television cameras had left Tuesday evening, the Wheatfield Town Board went on with its annual reorganization meeting.

Items approved ranged from salaries for elected officials to appointments of voting machine inspectors.

Among items approved were:

•The Niagara-Wheatfield Tribune and Greater Niagara Newspapers were named the official newspapers for the town.

•Board meetings will continue at 7:30 p.m. the second and fourth Mondays of the month, unless otherwise specified.

•Salaries for elected officials were set: supervisor, $36,592.40; town clerk, $60,220; town justice, $23,016.94; councilman/deputy supervisor, $16,562.84; other councilmen, $13,100.84; highway supervisor, $62,780.

•Councilman Kenneth Retzlaff was appointed deputy supervisor.

•Board members appointed as liaisons to town departments included: Art Gerbec and Larry Helwig to the Highway Department; Gerbec and Retzlaff to the Water/Sewer Department and to the Comprehensive Planning Committee; Gerbec and Gil Doucet to the Building Department; Doucet to the Constable Department, the Safety Committee and the to the town clerk; Doucet and Helwig to the Recreation Department; Helwig to the Assessor Department, the Greenway Committee and to the budget director; Gerbec to the Drainage Committee and to the Veterans Committee; Supervisor Robert Cliffe to the Economic Development Committee; Retzlaff to the town attorney and to the Human Resources Department; Town Attorney Robert O'Toole to the Justice Court.

•Town officials will be compensated at 50-cents per mile for official travel using their personal vehicles. Elected town officials will be reimbursed for stationery, postage, telephone calls and other expenses for official purposes.

A full list of appointments will be on the town's website as part of the reorganization meeting minutes.

comments powered by Disqus