Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Election Day is Tuesday

by jmaloni
Thu, Nov 3rd 2011 09:00 am

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 8, for Election Day.

Wheatfield has the most contested town races (supervisor and two Town Board seats), while Town of Niagara has only one (highway supervisor). In county races, all voters will vote in the county clerk race, and depending on district, some also will vote for County Legislature candidates.

Wheatfield Supervisor Robert B. Cliffe is seeking re-election to a second term, running on the Republican, Conservative and Independence lines, while Donald J. Wallace is running on the Democratic and Working Families lines. Wheatfield councilmen Larry L. Helwig (R, C, I) and Gilbert G. Doucet (R, C, WF, I) are seeking re-election. Opposing them are Robert J. Pino (D) and Barbara A. Lange (D). Town Clerk Kathleen M. Harrington and Superintendent of Highways Arthur F. Kroening are running unopposed.

The only County Legislature race affecting Wheatfield voters is the race between Gerald J. McCormick (D, WF) and Kathryn L. Palka Lance (R, C, I) in District 7. William L. Ross and David E. Godfrey are running unopposed.

There are seven polling places in Wheatfield. Anyone not sure which is their voting district should go to the Niagara County Board of Elections website or call 438-4040.

In the Town of Niagara, voters in all districts report to Niagara Active Hose firehall, 6010 Lockport Road, to cast their ballots.

In the town races, Robert E. Herman Sr. (D, C, WF, I) is seeking election as highway supervisor, the post he was appointed to earlier this year. He is opposed by Donald E. Schildhauer (R). Supervisor Steven C. Richards, Town Clerk Sylvia Virtuoso, Town Justice James J. Faso and councilmen Robert A. Clark and Danny W. Sklarski are running unopposed.

Town of Niagara voters also will be asked to choose between town resident Brittany I. Catchpole (R, C) and city resident Jason A. Zona (D, WF, I) for County Legislature District 5. Catchpole was appointed to the County Legislature to replace Sklarski earlier this year.

Voters in both towns will be casting ballots in the county clerk race, where incumbent Wayne F. Jagow (R, C, WF, I) is being challenged by Pat L. Murphy (D, Niagara Taxpayer).

On the ballot in the Town of Niagara will be county coroner for District 4 with Gerald Frazier II (D, WF) running against Russell Jackman II (R, C, I).

Hometown News

View All News