Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Primary Day is Sept. 13

by jmaloni
Thu, Sep 8th 2011 01:05 pm

Several local races will be on the ballot in Wheatfield and the Town of Niagara on Primary Day, Sept. 13.

Voting times will be noon to 9 p.m. All polling sites will be open, according to the Niagara County Board of Elections.

Probably the most controversial primary in the Niagara-Wheatfield area will be the supervisor's race in Wheatfield.

Both current Supervisor Robert Cliffe and former supervisor Timothy Demler are on the ballot for the Republican line. There is also an opportunity to ballot (or write-in opportunity) on the Working Families line. Cliffe took office in 2009.

Voters will choose two candidates from among three vying for the Republican line in the Wheatfield Town Board race. On the ballot are Craig Schultz and incumbents Larry Helwig and Gilbert Doucet. There also is an opportunity to ballot on the Working Families line.

In Niagara County Legislature District 5, Town of Niagara resident Brittany I. Catchpole, appointed this year to finish former Legislator Danny Sklarski's term, will be up against Niagara Falls firefighter Jason A. Zona on the Democratic line. Working Families lists Zona and an opportunity to ballot. The Independence line lists Catchpole and an opportunity to ballot.

The only primary in the Town of Niagara is for superintendent of highways. Robert E. Herman Sr. left his position as councilman to become superintendent of highways. He will be up against Donald E. Schildhauer for the Republican line.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News