Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Awards presented at Lew-Port board meeting

by jmaloni
Sat, Jun 25th 2011 12:01 am

by Tiffany Hyman

A pledge of allegiance, led by the Lewiston Porter High School Junior ROTC, and very talented choir members singing the "Star Spangled Banner" started the joyous end-of-the-year Lewiston-Porter School Board meeting on Tuesday evening. The session included recognition of graduating Lew-Port seniors, gifted elementary students, beloved retirees and volunteers who help the disabled.

It started off with Millie Reeves of the recently concluded Lewiston-Porter Community Ambassador Program announcing an award for the community advancement program. Reeves has been on the ambassador program since 1954. She explained the new scholarship is intended to ensure students can travel abroad to a sister school. Spokesman Jim Marsh and the board presented a check for the International Studies Program for $2,000 on behalf of the ambassador program.

Lew-Port School Superintendent Chris Roser announced the student achievement award, which was first presented to elementary school students by Breniser. Meager, Noah Passanese and Emily Breniser.

Barbara Godshall, director of special education, gave recognition to the Committee for Special Education. Parents volunteer their time to helping those with special needs. The following were recognized: Jennifer Beggs, John Lucas, Joseph Marra, Lisa Lunro, Denise Plennert, Kelly Slaugenhoupt, Robin Stevens and Dena Stoneham.

In other news from the session:

•The Lew-Port Board of Education approved the donation of art equipment from Juanita Simmons of Youngstown.

•The board passed the request to dispose of middle school textbooks as submitted by the school's administration.

•The American Red Cross shelter agreement was passed.

•The board approved next year's winter athletic programs - basketball, wrestling, ice hockey, swimming and bowling.

The BOE will hold a reorganization meeting on Tuesday, July 12, at 6:30 p.m. in the boardroom of the Community Resource Center. Regular meetings are held every third Tuesday of the month at the Community Resource Building at 6:30 p.m. during the school year.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News